Friday Night Thoughts ~ Rachel

I’ve had an interesting Friday and am very much looking forward to collapsing into the chaise lounge and watching Up in the Air tonight while Dave has a boy’s night with his buddy. The day started off with me sleeping in until 8:47am (my sleep has been totally screwed up this week). That’s not normally a problem except that Kharma had a vet appointment at 9am. Doh! I was only 5 minutes late. The vet was about 20 minutes late. Doh again! Anyways, I don’t think I smelled too bad…I at least brushed my teeth! Add in two near car accidents (one at 50mph) because of oblivious idiots on the road and my morning was off to a roaring start. It got better after that but I’m still in need of some relaxation!

So here are my thoughts on my goals so far this week:

(1) No flex points until Saturday: I’m good on that except for last night. See my food journal for a food explanation. I’m not worrying about. It’s why they are called flex points!

(2) No pop: I’m carbonated beverage free now for almost 2 weeks!

(3) Exercise twice this week: Well…I still have 3 days left in my week!

(4) Track everything: Check.

(5) Make better food choices: I think I’m doing ok on this. I’ve had canned fruit 3 of the past 4 days which is a huge improvement over my normal no fruit diet. Granted, the fruit was from a can, but what else are you supposed to do when it’s March and no good fruit is in season? I think there are some advantages that canned fruit has over the fresh stuff but I need to research that a little further. Maybe it’ll be a blog post. Anyways, I think I need to work on adding even more fruit and vegetables and maybe some more whole grains? What do you all think after seeing my food journal?

Tonight’s dinner was super yummy so I’d thought I’d take a picture of it and send you to the recipe links. The Baked Shrimp in Lemony Garlic Sauce is a Weight Watcher recipe that I’m going to start relying on. It’s super easy and fast and darn tasty. I gave Dave sweet potato fries with his because I was having brussel sprouts and he HATES (I cannot emphasize that word too much) brussel sprouts. I made sauteed brussel sprouts with chili-garlic sauce and cashews from The Bitten Word and OMG was it awesome. I’ve never had sauteed brussel sprouts before which was kind of fun. I will say that I underestimated the heat of the chili-garlic sauce and will use less next time…my mouth was on fire! I’m kind of a wimp though.

Here is my dinner. I’ve always envied the bloggers who make such pretty food and not only remember to take a picture of it, but take a really nice picture of it! I do statistics and research for a living…I won’t be quitting my day job to become a photographer!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Clay  On March 20, 2010 at 7:23 am

    Rachel — So glad you liked the Brussels sprouts! Thanks for giving them a go! — Clay

  • Lori (Finding Radiance)  On March 20, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Oooooo – those brussel sprouts sound good! I lurve cashews.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On March 20, 2010 at 9:28 am

      They were the perfect crunch and taste factor to the meal…and you don’t need a lot!

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On March 21, 2010 at 8:39 am

    I still can’t do brussel sprouts! It sounds like you are doing well on your goals. We live in the south so we still get some pretty decent fruit this time of year. I definitely think canned is better than nothing – as long as its in its own juice.

Leave a comment