Goals for the Week ~ Rachel

I met last week’s goal of no pop and I’m still going fairly strong with it. I was very close to having pop this weekend but I decided that since I was doing so good without it, there was no real need for it. I’ve decided to only allow myself a pop every once in a while and that if it’s root beer, I’ll allow myself the real deal instead of diet.

I’ve been feeling a little complacent recently with my tracking. There are times where I’m like a little kid in my head…stomping my feet and whining “I don’t want to!”  I don’t think I threw a lot of tantrums when I was kid but I’m making up for it now (at least in my head). If I want to see better results on the scale, I need to be a little more in control of things so I’m going to set some goals for this week that will hopefully carry through longer:

(1) I’m not going to use my flex points except on Saturday night (Kristen is making homemade pizza and since she is Italian, I’m sure it’ll be awesome), Sunday night (Marlene’s birthday dinner involves baked ziti and birthday cake) and on Monday night (I’m going to Charlotte to see the Moody Blues with my dad and step-mom…I’m sure we’ll be going out to eat beforehand). I’ve been making the use of those flex points a little too much of a habit…they are definitely a crutch for me. I need to get myself prepared for when I don’t get 30 points a day!

(2) Still no pop. I might hit up Teavana and try some exotic tea this with my friend Marcie.

(3) I’m going to exercise at least twice in the next week. I haven’t been exercising because I  (a) hate it and (b) twisted my foot so anything with any impact hurt. Well, I have to get over the hate and my foot has for the most part healed so I have no excuses anymore.

(4) Track EVERYTHING. I get a little too relaxed and that’s when I get in trouble.

(5) Make better food choices. If I want a snack, I usually choose a WW mini bar (processed, usually chocolate) when I should be choosing fruits and veggies. I have a fridge full of fruits and veggies. I will cut them up and portion them out today so all I have to do this week is reach and grab. This will help with Dave’s lunches too. Other than my daily Attune bar, I will only allow myself one “sweet” dessert type item per day. Mini bars, even though they are one point, count!

In order to achieve these goals, I am going to be more transparent and post everything I eat (in abridged format) and do in terms of exercise. It probably won’t be the most interesting set of blog entries you’ll ever read but at least I’ll be a little more accountable. I’ll feel like a dodo head if I have to tell you I ate 3 mini bars in one day and hardly had any vegetables. It’s time I really work the program, because the program works!

That should be enough for one week, don’t you think? I’ve not been terribly motivated to blog recently either. I’m finding that I prefer reading blogs to writing them…so my posts might not be as frequent as other blogs. Besides, I have a dissertation to write!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana  On March 16, 2010 at 9:59 am

    what? you’re writing a dissertation???

    • Rachel Palmieri  On March 16, 2010 at 10:00 am

      oh scuz, you make me laugh!

  • Shelley B  On March 17, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    I have trouble with snacking on those “bars” as well. I really need to send what I have left home with my sons when they go back to school this weekend. And not buy anymore, lol!

    Sounds like your goals are reasonable AND attainable – enjoy that homemade pizza! 🙂

Leave a comment