Random Thoughts for a Tuesday Afternoon ~ Rachel

Apparently, blogging on a M,W,F doesn’t work for me as I have failed recently to follow my own schedule! My other problem is that my blogging juices are either feast or famine…I either don’t have a clue what to blog about or I have a list of seemingly disjointed topics. Well, it’s Tuesday and I have a random list of stuff to discuss. Just go with it:

(1) Probiotics & Prebiotics: Probiotics are live microorganisms, which when administered in adequate amounts, confer a health benefit (this according to the WHO)…think about the healthy bacterial organisms in your intestines.  Probiotics aid in digestion, help our immune systems and strengthen the intestinal wall. Prebiotics are a form of fiber that remains undigested in the small intestine and acts as food for the naturally-occurring friendly bacteria in your digestive system.  Basically, probiotics need prebiotics to do their jobs. Unless you’re downing supplements, you’re likely getting most of your probiotics from yogurt. Other sources include: buttermilk, kefir, tempeh, sauerkraut and miso. Sources of prebiotics include: honey, fruit, tomatoes and raw apple cider vinegar.

Everyone has seen the commercials with Jamie Lee Curtis spooning out Activia yogurt, right? Well, I tried it once. It tasted fine. But it is NOT meant for someone who has IBS. Trust me on this. Apparently the probiotic in Activia is meant to speed up the digestive process. Thanks, but I don’t need any help with that. I don’t think Bifidus Regularis is the probiotic for me!

I’m now hooked on Attune Bars which contain both probiotics (Lactobacillus acidophilus NCFM, Lactobacillus casei Lc-11 and Bifidobacterium lactis HN019) AND a prebiotic (inulin). One serving of Attune Bars contains 5x the amount of live cultures that a serving of yogurt has. I’ve only had the chocolate wellness bars so far but man oh man, are they tasty…check out the website for all the yummy flavors. You can get them where the yogurt is in certain specialty stores…Whole Foods and Earthfare have them in my area.  Don’t let the price deter you…For a 7 day supply, it was $9. But when you think about it, they aren’t that much more expensive than a yogurt cup and you’re getting more probiotics plus CHOCOLATE! These are like dessert! You get two squares per bar…and in my Weight Watcher world, they are only 2 points.  I’ll take chocolate over yogurt any day. Probiotics, check. Prebiotics, check. Chocolate, check. Yumminess, check. Happy digestive track, check (my IBS is not worse and in fact, seems to be improving a little bit).  Attune Bars are sort of a no-brainer for me. I dare you to try them out.

(2) Feeling Full: Portion control is probably the hardest thing for me to control, especially if I like the food! Well, Weight Watchers is trying to get us to eat more filling foods. I’m doing fine with this because of the amount of veggies and lean proteins I eat, but I just wanted to describe my dinner experience last night. We had stir-fry scallops with red peppers, asparagus and mushrooms over short-grain brown rice. The sauce was simple: soy sauce, garlic, ginger and crushed red pepper. Anyways, I COULDN’T FINISH MY DINNER! And it was only on a salad plate! I thought maybe it was a fluke so today for lunch, I ate the leftover rice and veggie mix with 4oz of pork tenderloin we had leftover from another dinner and guess what? I HAD A HARD TIME FINISHING MY LUNCH! Do you have any idea how weird that is for me? It’s so weird…but so good! Maybe after 4 weeks of Weight Watchers, my body is figuring stuff out. Well, I think it’s more my head than my body but you know what I mean.

(3) Blogger Award: The blogger world is fascinating to me and apparently bloggers give each other awards which are then meant to be passed around. Today, I received the Happy 101 Blog Award from Angie over at Isla de Angela. Thanks so much, Angie!

The rules are:  List 10 things that make me happy, do one of my “happy things” for the next 10 days and pass the award along to a few other bloggers I’d like to be happy!

I’d like to pass this award along to my cousin Ana, Mary Beth, Shelley, Miranda, Jane and Jennifer. And now, here is a non-exhaustive list of things that make me happy:

1. Nightly back rubs from Dave

2. Reading books and magazines for fun

3. Listening to music (bonus if I can sing along to it)

4. Trying out new recipes and planning meals (I’m not tired of this yet)

5. Strolling by a body of moving water

6. Organizing (I used to rearrange my room on a regular basis when I was a kid)

7. Aveda Facials

8. Going to the movies

9. Catching up with friends I haven’t talked to in awhile

10.  Petting/snuggling/playing with my dogs

Happy Tuesday everyone. I’ll be back later this week!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Rebecca  On February 10, 2010 at 1:58 am

    That’s interesting about the Attune Bars. I’m going to have to see if I can get those over here in Korea. My IBS makes yogurt not such a good idea. 🙂 Keep writing you two you’re encouraging me to keep going on my workouts as well!

  • Mary Beth  On February 10, 2010 at 6:47 am

    The blogger award explains why I had the 2nd highest number of hits ever on my blog yesterday. I was wondering what was going on!

    Glad you found “chocolate” that makes your IBS happy!!!

  • Shelley B  On February 10, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    First, thank you so much for the award!!! I really appreciate it!

    Now, the Attune Bars? LOVE THEM. I’m not sure if I’m getting or need any of the benefits from them, but they are tasty, and I think only about 80 calories. I get them at my local grocery store in the yogurt section.

    Very cool that you have your MSPH! I hear the word “Epi” bandied about a lot with Jeff and his cronies. I had to ask, if you can believe it, what his MSPH was in…it’s Environmental and Occupational Health, emphasis on drinking water treatment.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On February 10, 2010 at 10:08 pm

      Don’t feel bad that you had to ask him what his MSPH was in! My grandfather, up until the day he died, thought I was going to be a microbiologist. I think it was easier than trying to remember epidemiologist (which half my family still can’t pronounce)! LOL!

Leave a Reply

