Ice Ice Baby ~Rachel

I had to go to Bethesda, MD for a work conference so I missed my Weight Watchers meeting on Saturday. I’m pretty sure that the scale moved the proper direction but I’ll post my official numbers next Saturday (Disclaimer: We are going to the Beer, Bourbon, and BBQ Festival Friday night and I intend to partake in all of the “B’s” so weigh-in might not be too stellar…oh well, YOLO).

My reason for this post is to talk about running. More specifically, the injury I seemed to have acquired before I even began my Couch to 5K training.

I got it in my head that I was going to train for a 5K…there is a Color Run in Charlotte in mid-October that I was aiming for. I got pumped up about it. I posted about it on Facebook and told the world (ok, just my FB friends) that I was going to do it. I downloaded several apps on my phone and was about to start figuring out a training schedule.

And then my foot started to hurt. This wasn’t the normal plantar fasciitis pain I’ve become so accustomed to and can work with. This was pain on the top of my foot that I’ve not felt before. I decided to test it out at the gym and attempted a 2 walking laps and 1 jogging lap rotation. Well, by the end of 15 minutes, it hurt like hell. I did, however, discover that jogging wasn’t so bad. My big butt was jiggling/bouncing A LOT when I jogged and while that was kind of uncomfortable, it was bearable and I was able to ignore it after awhile. Too bad I didn’t have a sports bra that could hold my ass in. Anyways, the damn foot was screaming at me. Dave insists that my shoes were the problem since they were old and badly in need of replacement. We went out and bought new shoes (incidentally, I got the same Brooks Dyad 7’s in a different color scheme). I then tried doing one of our early morning walks with the dogs…by the end of it, I felt crippled. I then went to Bethesda and only wore my big clunky Danskos. I did some walking but it was relatively low impact as it wasn’t exactly power walking. My foot started to feel a little better so I thought my injury was maybe getting better.

I went to the gym this morning and did: 10 minutes Arc Trainer, 5 laps around the track (0.25mi), 15 minutes Elliptical, 5 laps, 10 minutes Arc Trainer. My foot actually felt ok during all of this. I talked to Dave’s trainer. She told me to ice it, even if it was a stress fracture (which I am worried about). Dave talked to Brandy later in the day and was instructed that I should do an ice bath. Sonofabitch, I was not happy to hear that. Dave had to do it a couple of weeks ago and was not shy in talking about how awful it is. So I did the ice bath…15 min in, 5 min walk, 5 min in, 5 min walk, 5 min in, 5 min walk, 5 min in, 5 min walk. This is me with my foot in Dave’s beer brewing bucket full of ice:

ice

 

 

 

 

 

For the record, it was NOT fun.

Only time will tell what the problem is with my foot and how long I won’t be able to train for a 5K. I’m taking this one day at a time and hoping that it starts to resolve itself. If not, I’ll go to a doctor, I guess. I already have a walking boot if I need it (thank you, plantar fasciitis). When I can start training for a 5K, I will. I’m hoping I can do one in October. But if not, I’m sure I will have plenty of opportunities in the spring. Until then, I’ll just keep at my cardio at the gym (the machines don’t bother my foot) and do no-impact stuff. At least with every delay of training, there will be less of me to jiggle/bounce as I do run 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Shelley B  On July 29, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    OK, that is a funny picture, but I’m so sorry you’re hurting! I have top-of-foot pain; there’s a definite bony bump on mine, and apparently it’s an arthritic bone spur. Awesome. Hurts like a mother, that’s for sure…I have to lace my running shoes so there’s no pressure on it, and I get a lidocaine injection in it (yes, IN the top of my foot) and that helps immensely.

    Hoping your pain is related to an easily-curable issue…can you get an xray?

    • Rachel Palmieri  On July 30, 2013 at 2:45 pm

      Oh, I know all about your foot issue and I’ve been praying mine is something different! I’m going to wait it out a couple of weeks to see if it improves and if it doesn’t, I’m going to schedule a doctor’s appointment (and probably get an x-ray). I’m really hoping it’s not a stress fracture or other bone issue. And I’m also really hoping that getting any kind of shot is not one of my treatment options. I had a steroid shot in my foot for the plantar fasciitis once…I swore I would NEVER do that again. I’ve only felt searing pain like that a couple of times in my life and wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy (especially since it didn’t help the plantar fasciitis at all)! The thought of someone shooting me with lidocaine in the top of my foot kind of makes me want to throw up. You are a trooper!!!

  • biz319  On July 30, 2013 at 11:15 am

    I almost spit out my coffee when I read you wished you had a butt sports bra – I need one for my muffin top!

    Yep, the icing sucks, but I think it will help. I talked about this on my blog before, but whenever I have feet/heel/calf pain I go back to my Classical Stretches that I DVR’d and just 30 minutes of stretching and I am a whole new woman. Do you stretch before/during and after working out?

    I found mine on PBS – maybe your local station has it –

    http://www.classicalstretch.com/

    Hugs!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On July 30, 2013 at 2:41 pm

      I’ll have to try and find that one…I’m not very good about stretching. But I think I better start 🙂

      I’m beginning to think we should start a business of sports bras for other unwieldy body parts…

Leave a Reply

