What I Eat ~ Rachel

Since my last post was about chocolate and bacon, I thought it would be good to have a reality check. I don’t eat like that too often. My day-to-day menu is quite boring, actually, but it’s healthy and filling and easy. Lately, this is what I eat:

Breakfast: 2 egg whites, 1 egg, 1oz of lean breakfast meat (bacon or sausage) or 1.5c of mushrooms, 1 slice of whole wheat toast, and 1/2Tbsp of either butter or peanut butter.

There is also always coffee or tea with some half & half. I can’t get through a day without my hot beverages. I don’t need the caffeine…I just really like my hot beverages 🙂

Mid-morning snack: light string cheese, 1.5c fruit (today was watermelon)

Lunch: Chicken salad in a high-fiber tortilla wrap…the chicken salad is 1.5oz of white meat, 1.5oz dark meat, a handful of chopped green peppers or cucumber, a hefty sprinkle of cinnamon, and 1Tbsp mayonnaise (full-fat Hellman’s) plus 1.5c of fruit (today was cantaloupe).  I always buy a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store on Sunday and pull it all apart so I just have to weigh 3oz out when it’s time to make my lunch! It’s super easy, and it’s only $5 for the chicken, which will feed me the entire week.

Afternoon snack: More fruit (today was 2 peaches) and a yogurt. I’ll write a whole separate post about my favorite yogurts some other time.

Dinner: I work (3) 10-hour days and commute 1.5 hours total each day…so, since cooking dinner and eating at a reasonable hour is impossible, I have to precook and plan easy foods. There is always a taco night…I cook the taco meat on Monday or Tuesday night and we usually eat it Wednesday or Thursday night. There are always two “cupcake” nights…If you don’t know about Emily Bites’ Cupcakes, you should click on that link immediately for an example. I make 12 cupcakes on Monday night. Since we each eat 3 cupcakes per meal, that’s two nights of dinner! Friday night is always a very simple protein and veggie since we weigh-in the next morning and don’t want to be laden with sodium. That leaves me 3 nights where I get to actually cook meals and try recipes. I haven’t been too adventurous lately, mostly because of time, but I’m hoping to post more recipes here as I find good ones! I also want to point out that we always have a vegetable with our dinners but we rarely have a starch/grain…we find that we do better in the evenings if we stick to protein and vegetables. Every now and then, we’ll have a little bit of potatoes or rice, and we rarely have pasta, but it’s always a real serving…not a Paul Bunyan serving!

Dessert: I usually have a few points leftover in the evening for “dessert.” Sometimes it’s a beer or glass of mead. Sometimes it’s some sort of ice cream treat or frozen yogurt. We like to have 1/2c of Edy’s Slow Churned Vanilla Bean ice cream topped off with mixed berries that I’ve frozen and then nuke. Sometimes I nuke the fruit too long and the ice cream becomes soft serve. Dave hates it when I do that!

Honestly…I’m happy with all that food. And I have NO IDEA how the hell I ate the portions I used to eat. That 1/2c of ice cream would have been laughed at before…as I shoveled it into my mouth. Now? It still looks kind of pathetic (hey, I love ice cream!) but in a tiny bowl it doesn’t look ridiculous…and when you drown it in berries, it’s downright awesome! And satisfying!

So, that’s kind of a birds’ eye view of my eating habits. I’ll come back another time and tell you all about yogurt. And I promise, I’ll post about real food versus frankenfood. When you start reading food labels, you start going blind! DO you know what propylene glycol is? No? Well, I’ll tell you all about it soon.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • biz319  On July 19, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    My husband and I were noticing when we went to the store last weekend that we bought not one processed thing – it was lean meats, veggies, fruits and grains!

    I agree, I don’t know how I ate so much shit before – seriously I added it up one time and my “normal” back in the day calorie intake was around 4000-5000 calories. Eek! I am so proud at how well you are doing given your busy schedule! Kudos! Have a great weekend!! Hope you are feeling better. 😀

  • Shelley B  On July 20, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    Rachel, you make “dieting” sound simple and delicious! I love all the normal food you’re eating, plus how you are caring for yourself by cooking ahead for your busy nights.

    I’m looking forward to reading your Frankenfood post. Right with ya on being appalled at so much fake, chemical-laden food that is out there (and honestly, that I used to eat!).

    • Rachel  On July 30, 2013 at 2:38 pm

      I promise a Frankenfood post one of these days…things are a bit nutso right now…I’m just trying to make sure I eat right…the blogging will have to wait 🙂

Leave a Reply

