The Birthday Plague ~Rachel

All of sudden, my husband goes to the gym every day and is posting on our blog way more than I am. He also does laundry, cleans, and empties the dishwasher. Step back, ladies, he’s taken 🙂

And me? Well, I’m still trying to finish my dissertation. I also clean, meal plan, prep lots of food, and cook most of our meals. So there’s that.

Anyways…

My 34th birthday was on Monday. Our good friend (and my former roommate), Mary Beth, came down to Raleigh from Philly for the weekend to celebrate. There was a lot planned. I was even watching my aunt’s dogs while she was at a wedding (in Philly, of all places…small world). I had mapped out the entire weekend so I could have fun, be a good host to Mary Beth, and take good care of Lucky and Twinkle.

What wasn’t planned was me getting the flu. Last week, around this time, I got a sore throat but didn’t think much of it. It was a bit worse on Thursday but I managed to have a nice time at the monthly birthday lunch at work. By 2pm that afternoon, I was a mess. My throat was worse, my head hurt, and I had muscle aches that were actually interrupting my concentration. I left work early that day. By Friday morning, I had a fever of 101.3…my normal temp is somewhere around 97.6 (lower than the average person) so I knew I was really sick. We picked MB up at the airport that night and by the time we got home, I pretty much went to bed, not knowing what the weekend would bring. Well, I was feeling a little better the next morning and seemed to have broke my fever so off we went to Weight Watchers. I was down more than 2lbs…which was shocking to me because the scale at home said something else. The topic of the meeting was “Is it worth the points?” I’ll get back to that in a minute.

I felt human enough to go to dinner that night with our friends Keith and Monica. I did not want to miss my birthday dinner. It was at J Betskis, the German/Polish restaurant in town that is AWESOME! It’s my second favorite restaurant in town. And not only that, the month of July is PIEROGIE-PALOOZA. People, let me explain something here. My maiden name is Italian but I am more Polish than anything…and I have the pierogie gene. Trust me on this.

Well, I think dinner may have had some medicinal properties because I getting better and better by the minute. Dave and I shared the pierogie appetizer, I had the pierogie entree, and the table shared the pierogie dessert. We also shared something else. I’ll get back to that in a minute, too. The appetizer was 3 different pierogies: bbq pork, ox tail, and potato/leek. The ox tail was my favorite…there was a strong cinnamon flavor to it and I’ve been on a cinnamon kick these days. The entree was so complicated that I’m not sure I can even explain it. Let me try…they were stuffed with eggplant, some other vegetable, and quark cheese. On top was an arugula pesto, fresh corn, and some sort of almond puree/sauce. It was really tasty…maybe a little too much going on, but very tasty. It tasted a lot better than it looks:

I "borrowed" this from J Betski's FB page

I “borrowed” this from J Betski’s FB page

The pierogie dessert was pierogie stuffed with swiss chocolate, raspberry something or another, and hazelnut…and it was topped with a raspberry mousse and whipped cream. The entire table shared those, so I had 1/2 of a pierogie. The table also shared this:

I "borrowed" this from the J Betski's FB page, too

I “borrowed” this from the J Betski’s FB page, too

This is the chocolate torte. It is chocolate, sea salt, caramel, and bacon. This is the best dessert I’ve ever had in my life. Grandma, if you are reading this, I’m sorry. Don’t take it personally. Your desserts are right behind it. But LORDY this was a RELIGIOUS experience! And yes, I’ll repeat that for you in case the picture doesn’t speak enough words: CHOCOLATE, SEA SALT, CARAMEL, and BACON!

So…when I said I would “get back to that later,” here it is: My pierogie-palooza, birthday dinner was WORTH EVERY SINGLE POINT.

Of course…I’m now in the red for points this week. I need to earn 5 activity points by Friday to get back in the black. I probably will since we see Dave’s trainer on Friday. But even if I wasn’t, that dinner was worth it. Totally worth it.

Who said you couldn’t enjoy decadent food and lose weight/be healthy? I’ve lost over 46lbs since February…and I did it while enjoying chocolate and bacon 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • biz319  On July 18, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Glad you were able to enjoy your birthday dinner – nothing worse than being sick in the summer! And I agree – you can definitely lose weight by having indulgent meals like that – what got us in trouble in the first place was eating like that every day and every meal!

    I can remember back in the day having Burger King for breakfast, McDonalds for lunch, picking up Chinese food for dinner and then, if I was still hungry after Hannah went to bed? Eat a 12 inch frozen pizza by myself – gah!

    Hooray for down 46 pounds – you guys are doing great!!

Leave a Reply

