Links and food and stuff ~ Dave

Hello again!  I am posting twice this week since Rachel can’t seem to get it together long enough to make a post.  She has been rather busy with work and her birthday weekend last week.  And now we are coming into a few weeks of absolute insanity.  It will be interesting to see what our weight loss does these next 4 weeks.

To give you an idea of the insanity:
July 19th – Dinner with Rachel’s family.  Rachel will be making a healthy dish so I will try to stick to that.
July 24 thru 27th – Rachel is out of town for a conference.  This makes me a sad Dave.  Our normal date Saturday will move to Sunday but it will just throw me completely out of whack.  Even the dogs will be a bigger pain than usual.
August 2nd – Beer Bourbon and BBQ festival in Cary, NC.  This will be our second year going and this year we are going with our best friends!!!!!
August 7th thru 17th – Family vacation in West Palm Beach.  We are going with Rachel’s dad and step-family.  It will be nice to just be on vacation and not have to worry about things.  But everyone there except Rachel, her father and myself, have no issues with weight and eat and drink whatever they want.  I get the feeling I will be waking up early daily to run on the beach and  I will be limiting myself to very little eating just to try and balance the higher fat foods out.  We also plan on finding Weight Watcher meetings there so we can go when we need to.

Running-on-beach-by-sundero-2

So yeah it will be crazy, but it all ends with a 1.5 week vacation which we desperately need.  Moving along…

So I am an internet addict.  I even play online games like World of Warcraft or Star Wars.  But I find a lot of information on the internet and it and sometimes a lot of support.  Recently though I have found myself on a few subreddits for weight loss.  To explain a subreddit is easy.  Ther eis a website called reddit.com, on this website you can find all sorts of pictures, stories, jokes, you name it.  Now reddit is so huge that it has these pages called subreddits.  Each subreddit is dedicated to a certain topic like weight loss, weird pictures, cute animals and so forth and so on.  (There are some dark places that would scare normal folks and I try to stay out of those.)  But on reddit there is a subreddit called loseit.  I surf there daily, it is a site of inspirational weight loss stories, of people looking for advice or congratulations and everyone is there to help each other.  So not only do I blog now, I also post on loseit!  If you click on the little alien below it will take you to the loseit sureddit.

reddit_wallpaper-1366x768

And finally I want to talk about food, at least one in particular.  But I will get there with a very roundabout story.

So when I started Weight Watchers I was looking for ways to cut down on point usage.  I get a crap ton of points daily.  Weight Watcher points are what we use to count what we eat and how much we should eat.  As a mid-30’s male I get currently 68 points daily, 49 weekly points and I earn points by exercising (I have earned as many as 117 activity points in a week, that’s a lot.)  Well on a typical day I can’t eat 68 points unless I drink a few beers or eat crap like fast food.  (Those that follow us know we have not actually had fast food in about 4 months.  It even smells nasty to me now.)  So those were not really options and I just sucked it up to eating what I could and being healthy.  In doing so I also realized I needed more fiber and could not work out a way to get there and not eat a ton of bread.  That was when we found these little miracles of awesomeness.  (You can click the pic to see all of the products.)

OLE_XtemeWellness_SpinachHerbs

These suckers are full of fiber and make the best sandwiches and tacos I have ever eaten in my life!!!  We find them at Harris Teeter but I am sure other places carry them and they also come in different flavors!  I want to try the Tomato Basil one which Rachel does not know and now she is probably going “WHAT?!” out of sheer shock.

And one last minor Non-scale victory.  Yesterday I busted my butt at the gym.  I did 30 minutes on the stationary bike at a high intensity while lifting a medicine ball above my head over and over for 1 minute intervals.  Then I jogged/walked the track for another 30 minutes alternating 2 laps jogging with 2 laps walking!  Let’s see Rachel top that one!

So that is about it for now.  Maybe one day we will get another post from Rachel, at least I hope so as this is more her blog than mine…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • gracegothealthy  On July 17, 2013 at 10:00 am

    Glad I found your blog. It’s nice to have a support system!

    • dweber77  On July 17, 2013 at 12:31 pm

      Thanks. I started to read yours, but work got in the way. I have it bookmarked for later. Though my wife is really the blog reader.

  • biz319  On July 17, 2013 at 10:06 am

    I like your plan for you upcoming Insanity – but I hope it does include some indulgences – just not all day every day! Life is too short not to have a piece of pizza and a beer.

    I’ve had those wraps before and they are amazeballs – so tasty! Keep up the great work at the gym – you are giving me a run for my money!

    • dweber77  On July 17, 2013 at 12:30 pm

      Are you kidding?! 🙂 I made beer for the beach trip! It’s a honey hibiscus wit. I really will one day post a story about how to be a home brewer and lose weight.

Leave a Reply

