Guess Who’s Back ~Rachel

Hi everyone!

I know it’s been a long while since I posted…and Dave keeps nudging me to post something. So let this be my return to the blogosphere. I can’t promise regular postings, but I will try. I have lots of ideas of things to blog about, but you know what they say about best laid plans. After all, I am STILL dissertating 🙂

So, to catch you up on a few things:

  • I rejoined Weight Watchers at the beginning of February. I weighed in at the heaviest I’ve ever been: 283 point something. Like that point something means anything. I knew my weight had gotten out of control again. I wasn’t exercising. I was eating ridiculously large portions of things. I wasn’t even trying to lighten up recipes. And we ate out a lot. I was tired of feeling like crap. And looking like crap. And buying clothes in alarmingly high sizes.
  • This time feels different…I’m determined, sure. But I’m much more matter of fact and laid back about it all. It is what it is. Somehow, not making a big deal out of it makes it more real? Does that even make sense?
  • I will make a little bit of a big deal about something, though: Since i joined Weight Watchers, I’ve lost 44lbs.
  • I’ve been a little amazed at my body while losing the weight. My last big Weight Watchers adventure resulted in something like 56lbs lost and it seemed like the fat was coming off sort of evenly. This time, however? The weight is coming off of my butt (which is a slope now…it was a shelf) and it seems to be coming off of my thighs. The tire around my middle? It feels like it’s never going to get smaller. Dave insists it is getting smaller…and a friend at work has actually pointed out to me that my tummy looks smaller….but it sure doesn’t look it to me. It’s the part of my body I absolutely despise and get self-conscious about. Oh well. I know it takes time. And like we always say to ourselves in the mirror (seriously, the sign is hanging on our mirror), “I accept myself unconditionally right now.”
  • The eating part of my new healthy lifestyle is mostly a piece of cake. LOL. Sorry, I just said cake. I eat what I eat and I don’t get all whacked out of shape about higher point foods, especially when we are eating them in such moderation. My two favorite letters in the alphabet are D and Q. Believe me, we still go to DQ….at least a couple of times a month. I just get a small or medium sundae and I’m happy and satisfied. I can’t even imagine eating a large Blizzard. That kind of makes me want to throw up a little bit.
  • I still kind of hate exercise. I’m just trying to move more than I was. I now work (3) 10-hour days at the office (with a 45 minute commute each way). On those days, I get my ass up at 5:30am to walk the dogs with Dave. It’s only about 1.3 miles, and it only takes about 20 minutes or so, but it’s still something. And even though I DESPISE getting up at 5:30am (to do anything), it does set the day for me. I’m pushing myself to get to the gym on the other two weekdays. I do mostly cardio on the Arc Trainer/Elliptical/Rowing Machine but am starting to add some circuit training stuff to it. Every other Friday I train with Dave and his trainer Brandy. This past Friday, I did 600 reps in 30 minutes (side crunches one each side, deadlifts, pushups, squats, and straight rows). In the fall, I might add some personal training sessions with Brandy…maybe two a month or so.
  • I HATE HATE HATE pushups. Seriously. I *think* I would rather do burpees.
  • On the weekends, we walk the dogs before our Weight Watchers meeting and on Sunday mornings, we got for a couple mile hike at the nature park down the road. The hike is a lot of fun. Our furkids LOVE it. Darwin, especially likes to run around like a moron through the creek. We’ll have to get a video one Sunday so you can witness then two of them acting crazy.
  • In mental health news: I’ve FINALLY submitted paper #1 of my dissertation. It’s under review at a big epidemiology journal right now. I have to get my ass in gear for paper #2, which I want to knock out in a matter of 6 weeks, but the weight of paper #1 is off my shoulders for now.

There is a lot I want to blog about and I’m hoping to get back to it on a more regular basis:

  • What it means to eat REAL food. Propylene glycol is not real food. And it seems to be in EVERYTHING that is marketed as the “healthier” choice. I have some WW ice cream bars. I refer to them as my propylene glycol bars. I’m working on ridding my food of that kind of crap.
  • What the “foodie” world is currently talking about in terms of health and obesity. I’ve read a bunch of really awesome (and totally infuriating) articles recently. McDonald’s is not going to be the cure for obesity. You are probably saying, “No shit, Sherlock.” But let me tell, somebody out there thinks McDonald’s is the answer and the Atlantic made it their cover story recently. <facepalm>
  • Recipes
  • What my goals are in terms of body shape/size. I know I will  probably never look like this, but Gina Carano is hanging on my mirror in the bathroom:

263956-gina-carano-gina-9

  • What my fitness goals are. Hint: I used to do this:

3313417203_0ca2c0fcbe

Well, I better get working on paper #2. I have to meet with Dave’s trainer at 11 for an “assessment.” She’s going to show me some things I can do that will help with my weird orthopedic issues like my terrible feet and the plica in my knee. I guess I will blog about those things, too 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • findingradiance  On July 8, 2013 at 10:33 am

    Welcome back to your blog! 😀 Glad you are having so much success so far!

  • Shelley B  On July 8, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    What a great update – I’m glad you’re back! OK, I still keep up with you on FB, but you know what I mean. 🙂

    Congrats on the 44 pounds gone! That’s terrific, Rachel…you sound like you’re in a good place when it comes to food, dieting and a way of doing it that you can live with long term. I’m right with you on the fake foods; I’ve been off of chemicals and artificial sweeteners for so long now (says the former queen of diet coke) that I cannot STAND the taste of them at all. Very interested in your upcoming piece on the frankenfood.

    Oh, and you’d rather do burpees than push ups??? Crazy woman. 😉 Nice going with your workouts – what you are doing is pretty impressive!

  • biz319  On July 9, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    I loved this post Rachel!! So glad to read what you are up to and do a big SHOUT OUT for your 44 pounds lost! That is so awesome. I too have come to the realization is that it takes work, every day, to stay on track. And if I do have a couple beers, or a glass of wine over the weekend, so what? Sometimes just one “set back” could get me to eat and drink like shit for weeks until i snapped myself out of it.

    You should be so proud of yourself! And I still think you should sign up for a 5k! If you do, I will!

Leave a Reply

