So I promised more ~ Dave

While we wait for Rachel to get her butt in gear and write a blog, I figured I could give an update on things going on in our life. Really not much has changed except for the fact Rachel has finished paper #1 of her dissertation. That was the hard part and I am sure she will expand on that much more when she posts.

Other items going on, I took a small promotion at work and do server and VM work now instead of desktop support. No change in hours but I deal with fewer users face to face so that is definitely a bonus.

Now onto why we are here. I am going to change the format of how I report my weight loss. In fact it will be more of a casual thing. I look back on what I had done in the past with the posts and the tracking and where it worked it was also a bit demoralizing to see it in so many places.

1) I have now been taking thyroid medicine since September of 2012. Since then I have dropped a lot of weight. To give you an idea I had hit a high weight which I had seen only once before. Since then I got serious and really started working on my weight loss.

2) I have joined Weight Watchers full time with Rachel. I go to meetings and everything and it really does help. So far I have been on the program for 2.5 months and it truly does help.

3) The gym. I am now on trainer #6, they keep leaving for better jobs. But this one has taken a different approach and I only do circuit training, no more weights till I lose enough. I also get to do deck of cards every month or so. It consists of 4 exercises each represented by a card suit. My trainer deals cards and I have to do x number of y exercise. It’s brutal and I tend to have to do crunches, squats, push-ups and burpees. On top of that I now go to the gym 5 times a week and on the weekends Rachel and I walk on Saturday before our WW meeting and then go on a 2.5 mile hike on Sundays with the puppies.

4) I am planning on getting a bike in September to help with weight loss. I loved bike riding when I was young and still spend 30 minutes of my daily gym time on the stationary bike. All I know for now is a mountain bike, so if you have suggestions let me know.

Since my initial journey of weight loss, I am now down 60 pounds total.  This does not include what I had lost previously on the blog as I had gone back up.  Since joining weight watchers 2.5 months ago I have lost 26.8 pounds of that 60.  Not too shabby if I do say so myself.

Well that is all from me for now, let’s see how long ti takes for Rachel to post.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • biz319  On June 25, 2013 at 11:58 am

    That’s awesome Dave!! Glad WW is working for you and you are sweating it out at the gym. 😀 I guess it depends on what type of biking you want to do on what kind of bike.

    Mountain bikes have bigger tires, i.e. are heavier and are meant for, well, mountain biking and trails.

    If you are looking for distance riding, I would find a local bike shop and ask for their recommendations. I actually bought a really nice bike at a garage sale for $20 – it has skinny tires and I love it.

    • dweber77  On June 25, 2013 at 12:36 pm

      I want to stay as far from a road bike as possible. NC roads are nowhere to bike, at least not for me. The plan is to hit greenways at first and then transition into rail riding.

Leave a Reply

