Now with more frequency ~Dave

So, I will try to keep things going on a semi regular basis until Rachel can get back into things.

My doctor is a prick.  Plain and simple.  I have to see him on a regular basis now to get my thyroid levels tested till my medication strength is stabilized.  it’s annoying and really sucks for a person who hates needles.  But I will do whatever it takes to get my weight figured out and GONE!

The scale has barely budged.  Granted in 6 weeks I lost 8 pounds according to the prick, but that is nowhere near what it should be.

Here is why I believe this.

1) Both Rachel and I are eating very healthy to the point that old foods I used to cherish are just not good to me anymore.  We go out once maybe twice per week and the rest of the time is eating healthy home cooked meals.

2) I exercise 3 – 5 times a week.  I go to the gym at least 3 days a week to do my routines which are getting progressivly more intense.  I try to go a 4th day and do 45 minutes of cardio.  On top of that I have been taking the dogs for a mile walk and jogging part of it another day.  So I am definitely not slouching there.

3) Hypothyroid medication should cause weight loss even when the dose is not quite right or being figured out.

So my doctor proceeds to tell me 1 – 2 pounds a week is healthy weight loss.  Yes for someone just doing diet and exercise that would be correct.  But even my trainer stated that this should be extremely different for the following reasons:
1) I am male
2) I eat very well
3) I exercise a lot and I exercise HARD
4) My liquids consist of tea, 96 oz water (both daily) and maybe 4 beers (consumed weekly) no more pop

None of it is making sense.  I lost a few pounds and put it right back on.  My ring goes from being snug to almost falling off.  I dread waking up and getting on the scale because it feels like every victory is closely followed by a defeat.

Speaking of scales Rachel and I are looking for suggestions for one that is not too expensive but can take large weight.  Anyone?

So I am having a hard time staying positive.  I am motivated, that is not a problem and hell I think I am doing awesome at the motivation.  But something has got to give.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • biz319  On October 6, 2012 at 9:56 am

    Hang in there Dave! My first diabetes doctor was a complete asshole. When I went on insulin she told me about the insulin ratio I should be on – she said “take 4 units of insulin at breakfast, 4 at lunch and 5 at dinner.

    I was still taking all the oral medications I was on while still taking insulin. My blood sugars were still consistentl in the 300s! (normal should be around 100).

    She decides to go back into teaching, I find a new doctor, they ask me to bring all my medications I am taking. He looked at all the oral medication and was like “are you still taking all this?” When I told him yes, he said stop taking them – they don’t work for you anymore which is why you are on insulin!

    Turns out too that I should have taken 1 unit of insulin for every 5 grams of carbs I eat – after I did that my blood sugars evened out. Maybe get a different doctor?

    Hugs to both you and Rachel – have a great weekend!

  • biz319  On October 29, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    Happy belated Anniversary to you guys!! Hugs!

  • Nik  On December 12, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    Thought I’d check in, and found — whaddya know! — an update! I’m sorry to hear you’re discouraged, but dude, it is AWESOME what you’ve accomplished so far. “…Eating very healthy to the point that old foods I used to cherish are just not good to me anymore.” is a huge accomplishment, especially given your history of anti-greens, not to mention that you’ve completely restructured your life to include habitual, hard exercise. You ought to be super-proud, dagnabbit! Even if your weight fluctuates a bit, you’re still a heck of a lot healthier than you used to be.

    I still wonder if water weight is part of it? My own weight fluctuates by a couple of pounds for hormone-related water retention, even when my liquid intake is constant, so if they’re messing with your thyroid that could well be part of it. Hang in there! Kindly ignore my run-on sentences, and give my love to the future Dr. R. :o)

Leave a Reply

