Simplify ~ Rachel

Greetings everyone!

I’m here to tell you that I am officially putting this blog on hiatus until my dissertation is done.

In order to just get that darn dissertation done (goal is to defend in September), I need to simplify my life. That means clearing the calendar. That means removing as many obligations as possible. I know the blog isn’t an obligation…but it does take time and I think it deserves more than a half-assed attempt at posting regularly.

Until I defend my dissertation, I am going to stop blogging.

I am also stopping personal training with Isaiah. The money was definitely a contributor but it also seemed silly to have personal training sessions at a time when I am not regularly and consistently going to the gym.

I am also stopping my Weight Watchers membership. Again, it seemed silly to pay a monthly fee when I rarely use the website and haven’t been very faithful to meetings. I have the knowledge and materials to still follow the program if I choose to do so.

I will miss all those things but here is what I am going to do until my dissertation is done:

(1) Eat right

(2) Move more

I think if I can just get back to eating right again (and tracking what I eat) and get to the gym at least a couple of times per week for a class (water zumba just started!), I will be fine. It’s all about being aware of what is going in to my body and getting in some exercise.

Other than that, I just need to chain myself to my computer so I can dissertate…every now and then coming up for air in the form of a social life.

I’ll still be around the blogosphere….I just won’t be contributing posts to it anytime soon.

Once I defend, though, look out!

I can get back to a real life where I have hobbies and interests and time that isn’t completely taken over by feelings of guilt that I’m not working on my dissertation.

Until then, be healthy πŸ™‚

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Shelley B  On March 3, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    I’ll miss you on the blog, but I’m selfish enough to be glad that I’m FB friends with you, so I’ll still “see” you there…you aren’t quitting FB, are you???

    I understand the need to cut out pretty much everything to get that dang dissertation monkey off your back. Good luck and I hope it goes well for you!

  • Lori  On March 3, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    Good luck with the dissertation defense! Priorities are a good thing. The blog will still be there when you are done! πŸ˜€

  • biz319  On March 9, 2012 at 10:26 am

    I totally understand – you have so much on your plate already! I’ll just stalk you on Facebook! πŸ˜€ Hugs!

Leave a Reply

