Homemade Applesauce ~ Rachel

Apples are in season right now in NC…not for much longer, but they are in season for several months in the late fall/early winter. I wanted to try my hand at making applesauce in the crock pot. I asked Lindsay at Savory Spice Shop how to do it. It’s a lot simpler than you could imagine. The pictures below are just grabbed from random places on the interwebs…every time I make applesauce, I forget to take pictures while I’m doing it.

Step 1: Buy some apples. I usually buy a 1/2 peck in order to fill my crock pot!

Step 2: Peel your apples. I use a paring knife to do this but I suppose you could use a potato peeler.

Step 3: Cut your apple into big chunks and throw them in the crock pot, dumping a bunch of cinnamon on top. You'll want to fill your crock pot to the top!

Step 4: Pour a little water over top of the apples...enough to cover the bottom of the crock pot (maybe about 1/2 cup). Cover crock pot and cook on low for 2.5-3 hours.

Step 5. Mash cooked apples in the crock pot after cooking...I like to use a potato masher.

Step 6. Enjoy your homemade applesauce.

Notice that your applesauce contains only apples, cinnamon and teeny tiny bit of water. No added sugar. You won’t need it, I promise.

So far I’ve made applesauce out of old timey wine sap apples, rustic red apples, and pink ladies. There are probably other varieties that I am forgetting. Try whatever you want!

You will never buy applesauce at the store again.

Now I have to figure out what to do when apples are no longer in season in NC. It’s going to be a lot more expensive to buy organic apples at the store. After all, a 1/2 peck of in-season apples in NC is only about $5!

If you come up with anything special to do to your applesauce, let me know!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Rebecca H  On January 30, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Well assuming that the applesauce you make is freezable, just make enough to last when apples aren’t in season. 🙂

  • biz319  On January 31, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    I haven’t made homemade applesauce since Hannah was little and we went apple picking. Never thought to make it in a crock pot though – love it! (and that there’s no added sugar!) Hugs!

  • Alice  On May 9, 2013 at 10:08 am

    great recipe . i love Applesauce .

Leave a Reply

