You Take the Good, You Take the Bad…~Rachel

You take them both and there you have: The Facts of Life!

It’s been a wacky few days full of highs and lows. Here’s what’s been going on:

Bad: My Dell Studio 15 laptop has a design flaw that causes it to overheat…it eventually fried the processor and the hard drive…and I’m 4 months past warranty. I’ve been fighting with Dell since mid-December. I will never ever buy from Dell again. Their customer service disservice has now topped Time Warner Cable and Verizon Wireless on my list…and that is saying a lot!

Good: I bought a new 21″ iMac which is so very pretty and lovely to use. I’m trying to switch everything over and relearn stuff from my previous Mac experience. But all in all, it’s soooo worth it!

Bad: That knee injury has apparently not resolved itself like I thought it did. It has been feeling better each day since last Saturday when it was at its worst. I iced, I rested, I stayed away from exercise involving the lower body. It seemed fine. I did 20 minutes on the elliptical today and it felt fine. I followed that with 10 minutes on the stationary bike and it felt less fine. This evening, it’s swollen again and throbbing a little bit. Crap.

Good: I had personal training sessions with Isaiah twice this week, each time focusing only on the upper body. And while Thursday’s workout kicked my butt (boy oh boy did I WHINE), I’m not nearly as sore as I anticipated and I actually feel like I accomplished something in the session. But don’t tell Isaiah. He already likes to give me smug smiles as he’s kicking my butt.

Bad: I had bought a Groupon for a shellac manicure (Never done one? They. Are. Awesome.) and had a 1pm appointment yesterday. I showed up 20 minutes early in case they wanted me to soak my already shellac-ed nails. The only person working was doing hair. She couldn’t track down the manicurist. She called twice and finally, around 12:55pm, LEFT to go get lunch. Yep, I was left alone in a salon with another customer (who had her head under a dryer) while the ONE employee left the building for lunch. At 1:15pm, when nobody had shown up, I left. Boy was I pissed. I REALLY hate people who are late and people who don’t show up. I called Groupon from the call so they could issue me a refund. They did, without so much as an apology, but whatever. When I got home, I sent a message online to the nail person and said I was issued a refund and I would be reviewing her “business” online at various websites.

Good: The nail salon owner emailed me today to apologize. Apparently, they didn’t have my appointment in the book. Even though I was issued a refund, she offered me a complimentary shellac manicure. I sent her my phone number and we’ll see what happens. Mistakes happen and I will give her a second chance. I haven’t posted my review of her business online…yet.

It really does last!

But in the middle of all these “first-world problems,” I was down 8.2lbs at weigh in yesterday morning, I’m still faithfully tracking all my food, and I’m still not drinking pop!

Oh by the way….that dark chocolate caramel with black sea salt candy bar that has its own Facebook page? I finally ate it…half yesterday and half today…and it is good enough to have its own Facebook page. And that is not an exaggeration. Each half of the chocolate bar cost me 6 points plus. It was worth every single one of them.

Have a good weekend everyone! I’ll have some great recipes for you next week!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Shelley B  On January 13, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    Those iMacs look pretty sweet, but I’d be lost, trying to navigate Macworld. Sucks that Dell was so unresponsive toward their flawed product. We drove by their baseball field last week – believe me, they have plenty of money and could have made their product right by you. Disappointing that they didn’t.

    Hope your knee gets better – not good that it’s swollen and hurting again.

    That salon experience – how INSANE that the woman left!!! Did you tell the owner? That is just crazy. I’d go back for the freebie, but after that? Probably not…and with employees as flaky as that, I wonder how much longer they’ll be in business!

    Have a great weekend!

  • Cee  On January 13, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    I had a Dell, can’t remember the model, but I had to have a couple of things replaced on it and two months out of warranty the screen went dead. I too will never buy a Dell again! I have a bad knee, I have had two surgeries on it and should have another but I keep putting it off. I wrap it with an ace bandage for a few hours a day, I take Aleve around the clock and I also ice it when it is bothering me. It really does make a difference in recovery. Your salon experience was crazy! At least the owner is trying to make it right, second chances are sometimes worth it :).

  • Marsial  On January 14, 2012 at 6:26 am

    So sorry about your continuing knee problems, Rachel. I hate that our resolve is strong but our bodies keep sabotaging us.

    I gave up on Dell in 2005. We had great luck with Dell computers till then and I swore I would never use another brand. Unfortunately, Dell started outsourcing customer service and their once responsive, helpful, wonderful support people disappeared and what replaced them became a nightmare. I guess customer service is pretty bad everywhere now, though. I bought my new destop – an Asus from Velocity Micro because they touted their U.S.A. based customer service, but my computer blew up the first day I had it. Yes, they speedily repaired it at no cost to me (but a lot of bother), but they are definitely not responsive to customer service inquiries. My SONY laptop recently fried itself and since it was four years old, I’m not going to bother to spend big bucks to get it repaired. I’ve been researching new laptops for a few weeks and haven’t yet found the one for me.

    Congrats on the weight loss! Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

