LCL ~Rachel

If you’ve been following me for any period of time, you know that I am a bit of a klutz. I just fall. It just happens. I roll my eyes and get over it because most of the time, I’m not injured.

Last week (Wed or Thurs) my ankle rolled and I hit the floor. I walked it off but knew my knee was a little more sore than normal. My inner knee, where I have a plica that is prone to inflammation, was a bit cranky but after about a day, it was fine. Fast forward to Saturday night when my knee began to throb in pain. It was bad. It was distracting and it definitely hurt. Except the pain was on the outside of the knee. Weird. Anyways, I iced it a few times on Sunday, popped a bunch of ibuprofen, and told Doc about it on Monday morning. He was perplexed about the 2-3 day delay in pain after my fall. Then again, I’m not normal so who knows what happened. He poked around and said I have a mild LCL sprain and to rest it (and ice it) for a week. That meant no cardio except the recumbent bike. BOO! I was actually gonna get back on the elliptical after that appointment.

So I hopped on the recumbent bike for 10 minutes before my training session with Isaiah. I did not enjoy those 10 minutes. I was uncomfortable, my knee hurt and I didn’t feel like I was actually doing anything (except bothering my knee). I decided to just skip cardio for the week and do strength training. Isaiah stuck to an upper body workout. Only problem is that I pulled a muscle in my lower back doing chops with the pulleys.

So I’m a hot mess right now. My knee is feeling better and almost back to normal (I think). My lower back is not. I see Isaiah again tomorrow and will tell him to stay away from lower body and lower back. I have a feeling I’m going to have some tired arms tomorrow! On Friday I plan on easing back into some cardio to see how the knee feels. Let’s hope for the best.

In the meantime, I’m going to try and not hurt myself again 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Marsial  On January 11, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Rachel, as an often “walking wounded” person, I feel your pain. Best wishes for a speedy recovery.

  • biz319  On January 11, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Aw – you poor thing! I am only a klutz when it comes to step classes – I can never seem to keep up with everyone so I am the one usually just stepping up and down because I can’t do the more complicated moves. Hang in there! 😀

  • Shelley B  On January 11, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    Holy moly, one thing after another! How crazy and awful – hope you heal quickly. And yeah, I agree that if it’s hurting an injury, you probably shouldn’t be exercising it.

Leave a Reply

