Hello there, 2012…and Giveaway Winner ~ Rachel

I can’t say that I really have any complaints about 2011. If I do, they were kind of overshadowed by the fact that I married the love of my life and best friend!

But enough of that sappy stuff. I want to talk about 2012, especially since the world is apparently not going to end in December.

I’m not going to utter the R word. My goals are to finish my dissertation (non-negotiable success here) and to get healthier (again, non-negotiable success here). Here is how I am going to do it:

(1) Set a fairly rigid schedule to stick to until my dissertation is done. Dave always lets me get away with things like watching tv on nights when I am supposed to do work….there will be no more of that (so I’ve been told). I pretty much need to schedule everything because at this point, only structure is going to help me achieve my goal.

(2) Get to the gym 3-4 days per week, consistently. This will be on my schedule!

(3) Give up pop except when it’s part of an adult beverage (my drink of choice is Captain and Diet Coke after all). This starts tomorrow since I am drinking a Diet Dr Pepper as I type this blog post <sheepish grin>.

(4) Get back on Weight Watchers…I am going to give the new Points Plus 2012 plan the old college try for 3 months…if at that point, I don’t see the success I used to see on the old plan, I will revert. I’ve already mentally prepared for this…there seem to be a fair number of people who aren’t loving the new(ish) plan. Anyways, this will start this week on Thursday when I hit a meeting and buy a new tracking journal.

(5) Blog more. I’m going to put this on my schedule but I think I will blog two times per week with one day being a regular post and one day being a post with a recipe. If I discover more recipes, I’ll post more. There are a few blogs that I follow religiously…they are entertaining…they are informative….they are inspirational….and they are regular. I can always count on Shelley, Biz and Lori. I want to be dependable like that (and perhaps a bit entertaining, informative and inspirational too).

(6) Get back to Healing Spices. I was a bit ambitious with this before. My goal is to teach you about one spice per month and post a recipe or two for you. This will be above and beyond the normal blogging I want to do.

I think that about covers it. It’s simple. Finish my dissertation, eat less, move more. How hard can that be?

With that, I’m off to prepare my rigid schedule and make some applesauce with apples from our farmers market.

Oh…before I go…I should announce the winner of the giveaway I posted well before Christmas. Sorry (once again) for being a slacker. There were only 6 comments on the giveaway…perhaps because people have given up on me because I turned into a slacker? Anyways…the winner is….

Shelley: “Sweet of you to do a giveaway! I’d pick the Spiced Vanilla Bean Sugar – wouldn’t that be interesting to try in my granola instead of regular brown sugar?!?”

Shelley, you’ll get your winnings sometime this month! Did you know that we gave out spice blends at our wedding as favors and the Spiced Vanilla Bean Sugar was one of them? I’ve used it on oatmeal and it’s great!

I’ll leave you with this gem from the Hunger Games books (which you should all read): May the odds be ever in your favor.

I’m going to do my best to stop the odds from stacking up against me 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Shelley B  On January 2, 2012 at 10:17 am

    First, woohoo on winning the giveaway!!! What a nice way to start out the day with that news!!! And how cool that you did spice blends as wedding favors…what a nice change from the standard things.

    I like that you’re setting yourself up for success with a schedule. For me, just knowing that I blog on certain days (and notice I don’t blog every day – I couldn’t keep up with that pace), and that I work out on certain days (well, I’m supposed to, anyway), just gives me the mindset to go ahead and do it. I hope you find that same peace with your new schedule.

  • Marsial  On January 2, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Rachel, good luck with your very ambitious list ot TTDs. My advice — don’t even try to give up the diet coke till you’re finished with your dissertation. A gal has to have a little comfort to see her through the rocky times. But…then…you weren’t asking for advice, so ignore me.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On January 2, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      Thanks Marsial! My comfort will be coffee during the dissertating. I’m even thinking about buying a Keurig for instant comfort! How are you doing? I miss your blog posts!

      • Marsial  On January 2, 2012 at 4:37 pm

        I posted today (finally) so come on over and visit. I had never heard of a Keurig so I just looked it up. Wow! That is some coffeemaker! You’ll never get your dissertation done — you’ll be too busy trying all the different fun blends they offer….hahaha. See ya later.

  • biz319  On January 4, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    Thanks for the shout out Rachel! Here’s to both of us kicking ass and taking names in 2012!

    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

