Weekly Weigh In, Confused Edition ~Rachel

My body is confused.

Let’s just say that my digestive system is still trying to figure out what’s going on with my body. It’s not seeing its usual foods and it’s not sure how to handle that.

My head also appears to be confused about this detox diet. I got home from work yesterday with a horrific headache…very migraine like…and ibuprofen didn’t even touch it. When I woke up this morning, it had lessened to a dull headache but it is coming back full force as I type this, complete with a little bit of blurry vision.

The scale also appears to be confused. When Doc followed the detox diet, he lost 14lbs in 3 weeks. I’m now halfway into this and have lost only 2.4lbs. Yep, I was only down 0.4lbs at weigh-in this morning. I know Doc is a man, which normally aids weight loss, but I’m not even losing weight better than I would if I was just following Weight Watchers.

So I’m not sure what’s going on. I haven’t been making it to the gym as much because of my foot…and that might explain it. But I feel like there is something else going on. I can’t help but think about the impact of low-fat dairy products and calcium on weight loss. Studies have shown that they help weight loss. Well, I’ve cut dairy out of the equation and I’m not sure I’m getting enough calcium.

So I think I am going to force myself to take my daily supplements (multi-vitamin, vitamin D and maybe some fish oil). I’m terrible at remembering but I need to just do it.

I’ll continue the detox diet for another 12 days or so and see what happens at next weigh-in! I would have thought by now my body would have acclimated itself to the new norm but apparently, it takes a little more time!

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Autumnrose  On August 18, 2011 at 11:40 am

    I just have to say something about low fat/fat free foods, particularly dairy. I’m sure you have heard of good fats versus bad fats. Dairy should be considered a healthy fat. Low fat/fat free products have the good fats removed and additives are added for taste and/or shelf life. Sugar is often one of the additives in low fat/fat free foods. I follow a paleo lifestyle. Dairy products are often not part of a paleo diet. I’m not lactose intolerant and used in moderation I see no reason to remove it from my menu. I couldn’t make it without greek yogurt. *GRIN*

    The daily supplements you are adding are good choices in my opinion. I hope you are feeling better soon.

  • Rachel Palmieri  On August 18, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    I completely agree with you on low fat/fat free products, except for some dairy. I think drinking low fat or skim milk is better than full fat milk b/c that fat isn’t really the healthy kind. Same with cheese…though for the most part, I eat full fat cheese except for reduced fat feta and the 2% milk shredded cheeses when we use them. And I think reduced fat ie cream is ok too. And sour cream. Ok, I guess we do a lot of reduced fat dairy. Though….I cannot stand low fat or fat free yogurt b/c of the sweeteners.

  • Shelley B  On August 18, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    I routinely eat fat free Greek yogurt – recently I accidentally bought a 2% container, and was surprised to see that it contained LESS protein than the fat free! There are no additives in Fage, so either one is ok, but I like getting the extra protein.

Leave a Reply

