Learn Something New Every Day ~Rachel

Who wouldn't want to snuggle with Darwin???

I left work early today, took ibuprofen when I got home after I ate something, napped for a while (snuggled up with my furkid Darwin), got up and went to BJs (our wholesale club) because we had run out of ibuprofen and I also wanted to get some supplements. My headache had gone back down to a dull roar rather than sharp stabbing pains…and my vision wasn’t blurry anymore.  While at BJ’s…

(1) Doc texted me that Dave told him I was miserable with headaches and sluggishness. Doc told me that this is because of the detox and to just hang in there and drink a lot of water. Apparently when Dave told him I was well into my second week, Doc said “Well, she must have had a lot of toxins in her.” Lovely.

(2) I also discovered that most fish oil supplements contain soy.  I like the Nature Made brand of supplements and discovered this on the label for the 1200mg fish oil capsules:

Contains: Fish (Anchovy, Sardine) and Soy. No Artificial Colors. No Artificial Flavors. No Preservatives. No Yeast. No Starch. No Gluten. 

What the heck is soy doing in a supplement? Sheesh. I ended up buying their Triple Omega softgel that has Omega 3-6-9 from fish, flaxseed, safflower and olive oils. There was no soy listed but when I got home I discovered soybean oil in the ingredient list. DOH! I’m a bit mad at myself for missing that. I’ll ask Doc tomorrow if I have to wait to take them. In fact, all of the softgels I bought contain soybean oil. I’m gonna be so pissed if I can’t use them right now.

When you Wikipedia soybean oil, you are basically told that it’s what we know as VEGETABLE OIL. Who would have thunk it??? This blew my mind a little bit.

I learned a lot today at the wholesale club.

So that was my afternoon following a migraine morning. I had a nice tasty dinner of brown rice (cooked in my new rice cooker that we got at a wedding shower from Deb), sauteed asparagus and chicken thighs with a goat cheese and tarragon sauce.  I’m ignoring the fact that my organic chicken broth has evaporated cane juice in it (WHY????) because it’s what we had in the pantry. I’ll fess up when I see Doc tomorrow and see just how bad that minuscule amount of evaporate cane juice actually is. But, seriously, why in the hell is there added sugar in organic chicken broth?

The other thing I learned today? My dogs like asparagus.


Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Shelley B  On August 18, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    I just looked at my fish oil’s ingredients – “non-GMO soy” – huh. And really, sugar in chicken broth?!? I remember when I found HFCS in my tomato paste – you really have to read the labels on EVERYTHING, even things you think couldn’t possibly have stupid additions! Frustrating, to be sure.

    Your dinner sounds good. And I’m glad you’re feeling better – headaches are no bueno!

  • Jaclyn  On August 18, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Hang in there! Really glad you’re sticking to it. Just thought I’d offer my opinion re: fish oil. I’ve done a good bit of research and found Nature Made is actually like the “Old Navy” quality of fish oils so it wasn’t surprising tomhear it had fillers … soy! Yuck. Nordic Naturals is the Cadillac of fish oils. Really good stuff and guess what – No soy. My dogs and I had been on fish oil for years but hadn’t really seen any great progress. That is when looked into different brands and we all switched to Nordic Naturals. No kidding, 3 weeks later I could tell there was a difference. The dogs coats look great and shedding is to a minumum. Keep up the good work and good luck. Oh, one more thing: Activated Charcoal for those pesky detox migraines. Safe and natural. It comes in capsule form so it’s easy to get in your system as SOON as you feel it coming on. It really helped me.

  • Autumnrose  On August 19, 2011 at 4:34 am

    Detox, I remember those days when I started low carb. It was called the low carb flu.

    I try to read labels for additives, especially soy. I have hypothyroidism. There are times I completely forget. It’s surprising where you’ll soy, HFCS or msg.

    I would definitely want to snuggle with Darwin.

  • Nikki J  On August 19, 2011 at 9:32 am

    Darwin is immensely snuggle-able, no doubt about it! Your chicken recipe sounds like it might have been tasty — care to send the recipe my way?

Leave a Reply

