Weekly Weigh In & Detox Diet, Day 4 ~ Rachel

I have been feeling very fat the past few days (time of the month) and was not really looking forward to weigh-in. I peeked at our scale at home to find that I probably would see a loss at Weight Watchers…and I did! I was down 2 pounds!

If I hadn’t overindulged on some of the foods I can eat like nuts or those plantain chips or the baked lentil chips, the loss would have been bigger, more than likely. If the scale was that nice to me with less-than-stellar eating and time of the month, I can’t wait to see what happens when I really track and stop retaining water! Dave is not happy about my rapid weight loss since we made a bet about who would lose more before the wedding. I’m beating him so far but he was going the right direction this week! I think he’s doing a little bit of detoxing as well (because I do all the cooking) which probably helps!

So detox diet day 4 began with a 2 egg omelet with spinach and 1/4c goat cheese. Lunch was the black bean & tomato quinoa salad. Snacks were nectarines, hard boiled egg and an apple with unsalted almond butter from Whole Foods (the kind that is processed right there in the store). Dinner was leftover curried turkey & potatoes with roma tomatoes on top. As I type this, I’m trying to decide what my treat will be this evening…perhaps some nuts or fruit. Or maybe both.

Are you seeing a trend here? I have a feeling that breakfast will essentially be the same thing every day. When you can’t have gluten, dairy, corn or soy, you aren’t left with anything other than eggs. I suppose I could do some steel cut oats (I think they are gluten free) but those take time and I haven’t mastered the seasoning of them.  Lunches will probably also be the black bean and tomato quinoa salad or a salad with some protein on top if I ever plan that far ahead. Dinners will be more interesting but since Dave doesn’t do leftovers so much, I’ll be eating a lot of the same stuff. I’ll probably stop giving y’all the run down of my food but mention new things I’ve eaten or recipes that I like. Otherwise, you’re likely to get quite bored with my good eats 🙂

I tried a new herbal tea today…Celestial Seasonings Bengal Spice…it’s an herbal tea so I can have it! It was fantastic but VERY strong in terms of cinnamon and cloves and other spices. I would love to be able to put a dash of half & half in it but that will have to wait until I can have dairy again. There was coconut milk creamer at Whole Foods but since I hate coconut, I didn’t think twice about passing it up.

I also tried a green tea from Whole Foods that my buddy Karen brought me. It was tasty and I didn’t need any sweetener. It seems I like green tea in its plain state…when they start adding flavors it gets a little wonky for my taste buds. So I think I will just stick with the plain for now!

Don’t forget to leave a comment and be entered to win a Hungry Girl Cookbook! The contest ends tomorrow, Friday, at 12pm EST!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • deb  On August 11, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Maybe try a dash of hemp milk in the tea (though it is possible that it has sugar….I would have to look). Anyway, it is dairy and soy free (this is what Benjamin gets when he isn’t drinking breast milk). I am curious about eggs being okay in the detox…I guess, different detoxes for different reasons. Sounds like you are doing well!

  • jaclyn  On August 11, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    keep up the good work! i’d like to put a vote in for for steel cut oats. 🙂 i have a few “seasoning” suggestions you might like. again, i make a big batch of oats on the wknd (i do as much prep as i can on the wknds) then freeze the leftovers in muffin tins for a few hours. pop them out and store them in freezer bags. this way, i can take out what i want the night before OR if i forget, reheat in the microwave. my 1st fav: chop up apples and saute them in a pan w/ a little cinnamon. when apples are soft, toss them in hot oats with honey, agave, and toasted pecans. 2nd: do the same thing but with bananas and walnuts. 3rd: (this is from rocco dispiritos, now eat this cookbook) add 1c frozen cherries to a sauce pan w/ 1/4c agave, 1tsp vanilla, and 2T water and brign to a boil. now, his recipe says to add 1/2 tsp cornstarch to 2T of more water and mix till smooth. you can then add that to the sauce pan and bring all ingredients to a boil. … i never use the cornstartch and it turns out just fine. you can serve the hot fruit over your oatmeal or steel cut oats and it is delish!

    have you tried the chia seed pudding yet? you can also add 1/2 or more of a banana to the pudding and some of your safe nut-butter. that is a tasty combo as well.

    if you like salads – have you tried mixed greens w/ a gently fried egg over the top? sounds nasty but it is SO good! i add a little garlic salt and pepper then and make a olive oil, balsamic dressing to toss over the entire thing. easy and really good! i found this idea on a “clean eating” blog some years ago. the runny egg mixes really nicely w/ the dressing. promise, its good.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On August 13, 2011 at 9:32 pm

      Thanks for all the tips, Jaclyn! I have not tried the chia seed pudding yet…I think I have to trick my mind on that one…the chia seed bag mentions the word gelatinous and that does not sound appealing to me LOL!

      Since I’m dairy and everything else free, the steel cut oats might have to wait a bit longer…my doctor doesn’t even want me to use honey or sugar in anything! I will check with him on Monday, though, to see if I have some wiggle room.

  • Shelley B  On August 11, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Yeehaw, there is nothing like a drop on the scale to combat that “fat” feeling!

    Your eats all sound really good. I’m craving your lunch black bean/tomato combo now! 🙂

  • Elaine  On August 12, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Good work! You’ve inspired me to detox a little too! I’m having trouble cutting out dairy. I love my greek yogurt!

Leave a Reply

