Detox Diet, Day Two ~ Rachel

Since I posted so early on day one, this post is more about day one than it is about day two!

I spent almost the entire day in the kitchen yesterday. All I did was chop fruit and produce and rearrange the fridge/freezer to accommodate tupperwares of produce! I also had several meals to make. The first was the Black Bean & Tomato Quinoa salad…which I’ve made many times before…but this time, I had to make the black beans from their dried state and figure out substitutes for the butter and sugar in the dressing. I followed the quick soak method for the black beans and they came out great. I used olive oil instead of butter and a packet of Truvia for the sugar. I have it for lunch today so hopefully it came out alright.

I was also intent on making hummus…also making chickpeas from their dried state. I was following different directions for those. They soaked overnight. I rinsed them and then had to soak them for many more hours. I then cooked them. And apparently, I cooked them to hell and back because they were mush. And there was weird gray mush mixed in with the yellow brown mush of the chickpeas. It was quite possibly the most disgusting thing I’ve ever done in the kitchen. So after some cursing, I decided to forget about hummus until Thursday (when I am home again from the office)…and when Thursday arrives, I will attempt a quick soak method since that was a success with the black beans. Good thing I bought 4 pounds of dried chickpeas!

I also made our dinner last night: Balsamic chicken and mushrooms over brown rice. The rice was a bit under cooked and the chicken, because the pieces were a bit fat, was a bit overcooked. My day in the kitchen was not getting any better!

I’m pretty sure I spent too much time in the kitchen yesterday.

My eating for the day was not great but I pretty much stuck to the detox diet….not so much WW points. Breakfast was a great omelet with spinach, mushrooms and goat cheese. With all my food prep, I neglected to have anything but produce available for lunch so I ate a huge spinach/blueberry/strawberry/goat cheese salad with homemade balsamic vinaigrette.  My dijon mustard had sugar in the ingredient list but I used it anyways. I’ll get better stuff next time I’m at the store (probably Thurs). I was kind of hungry because lunch was a SALAD so I ended up eating way too many baked lentil chips, which by the way are not bad at all. I had tropical salsa with the lentil chips…which also has a little added sugar. Argh. Those salsas (Dave bought me two containers) were too expensive to let go to waste so I will be eating them. There can’t be that much added sugar in them, right?

So after dinner, I was cranky and tired and had a headache. Oh, I forgot to mention that my time of the month started yesterday morning. Time of the month + detox diet = One very cranky Rachel. So I ate a package of cashews.

I’m certain I was very over my WW points for the day. I stuck to the detox diet except for the added sugar in the mustard and the salsa, but that sugar is probably mostly negligible.

This morning I am tired and have a monster headache. I’m not sure if it’s hormone related or lack of caffeine related or general detox-related…I don’t really care what’s causing it…I just want the headache to go away. I popped 4 ibuprofen and am hoping it disappears soon. 2 computer screens plus flourescent lighting might do me in otherwise.

So….I guess things could be worse. But they certainly could be a lot better. Here’s hoping I stick to both the detox diet and the WW plan today….I should….I have a plan 🙂

Oh…and Dave cut up the watermelon for me. I was actually LOSING IT in the kitchen when he got home and asked what he could do to help. I gave him the job of the watermelon which is now in our freezer. Luckily…or not maybe…the 17 pounds was a lot of rind!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • dweber77  On August 9, 2011 at 11:18 am

    The part you forget to mention is how everything made you yell. Poor Darwin was so scared of you. But I am sure he forgot about it already. 🙂

    I have faith in you like many others do, you can do it.

  • Shelley B  On August 9, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    I’m exhausted just READING about your day with food prep – I can only imagine how you must have been feeling! Hopefully things will streamline a little now that you’ve put in so much work…good luck with this. It sounds healthy and doable! 🙂

  • biz319  On August 10, 2011 at 7:29 am

    Wow, that’s a lot of time in the kitchen – sorry the hummus didn’t work out – not sure what went wrong there!

    Here’s to day 3 – hope your headache is gone by now! 😀

Leave a Reply

