Weekly Weigh In, Pittsburgh Edition ~ Rachel

One of the gagillion Pgh bridges

I was in Pittsburgh Wednesday through Sunday and thought I would see about a Thursday morning meeting. As it turns out, there was one at 10am at the synagogue ONE BLOCK from my mother’s apartment. Better yet, I had to walk uphill to get there! So I went and weighed in with a one pound loss. I’ll gladly take it! The meeting itself was kind of worthless…it was a lot of women who clearly didn’t “get” the program and whined about their food. But I at least went…that’s not something I would have done in the past. Vacations were not meant for “work,” know what I mean? Well, I get it now. I have to work at this for the rest of my life so a 30 minute meeting one block up the road is not something I should get lazy about.

The Pittsburgh trip was fun. On Thursday, we headed to my old neighborhood, Mount Oliver, to check out my old elementary school that burned down and to just drive around reliving my childhood.  We also went to the cemetery to visit my grandfather and uncle. Boy…that little trip sounds way more depressing than it actually was! That evening, I got to visit with my uncle and cousin who I haven’t seen in quite some time and that was great too!

On Friday night, we (me, mom, 2 aunts, 1 adopted aunt, grandmother) went on an oldies dinner cruise on the Gateway Clipper Majestic. Everyone in our group, except for Grandma, drove down the average age on the boat LOL! The food was pretty good (standard buffet but they had a really good marinated mushroom and carrot salad), the company was good and the music was ok. Jimmy Beaumont and the Skyliners were…well, let’s just say they’ve been doing this A LONG TIME!

On Saturday, my Mom and matron of honor Angela threw a bridal shower for me which was very lovely. The food was awesome (I admit, I didn’t count points or care very much what I was eating because it was FANTASTIC food and a cake with buttercream icing….my favorite). After the shower I got to hang with my brother and niece Piper at the park!

Below are some pictures from the weekend…I can’t figure out how to put them side by side or in a collage so you’ll just have to scroll!

See you this Thursday for my next weigh-in…that will hopefully not reflect the weekend’s splurges (and Grandma’s chocolate chip cookies that were in my car for the 9 hour trip home).

Uncle Andrew and my cousin Christopher

Gateway Clipper Fleet: Our Boat

Aunt Grace, Aunt Monica, Mom, Me (Can you tell we are family?)

Jimmy Beaumont & The Skyliners

Me & Piper reading Pinkaliscious for the 3rd time!

Me & Abigail, my second cousin (She's almost 3 months old)

We took a picture of the printed picture my aunt bought from the boat (hence, blurriness)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Amy DiSanto  On July 12, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    Congratulations on your weight loss. I know how hard that can be. And Jimmy Beaumont and the Skyliners should have quit years ago. They are not good anymore.

  • Shelley B  On July 12, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    That is awesome about the loss, and go you for getting to a meeting while out of town! Looks like a fun visit – so many smiling faces!

Leave a Reply

