Weekly Weigh In, Enough is Enough Edition ~ Rachel

I was up 5.4lbs this week after not having weighed in last week. Ugh.

Here’s the ugly cycle of what happened: I didn’t eat fabulously last week because I wasn’t writing everything down. I didn’t weigh in last week because I had a doctor appointment. My laziness continued as the temperatures here in NC rose in the upper 90’s (I certainly didn’t want to cook). We went to a backyard feast over Memorial Day weekend where I actually didn’t do horribly but certainly didn’t write anything down. We went to lunch with Dave’s Mom and while I ordered very healthy food (except for the AWESOME deep dish key lime pie which I shared with Dave), I didn’t eat enough “power foods” to keep me full so I snacked the rest of the day. Now it’s Thursday and time to weigh-in. Oh, I should mention we had Bojangles the night before for dinner because I didn’t want to cook.

Up 5.4lbs. Dagnabit (is that how you spell that?).

So…guess who is writing everything down again? It’s the only way.

That and I’m gonna stuff myself full of the awesome cantaloupe and blueberries floating around these parts these days. Free food! It’s sad when I don’t mind spending serious money on a food when it’s zero points…though, that’s the whole point of the program’s motives I suppose.

After weighing in on Thursday, I hit the gym and then proceeded to write everything down. That afternoon, I met Dave at the car dealership where he traded in his craptastic truck for a Mazda Cx7 (see his post for a picture of me with the car, not wearing any makeup and looking like we had been in the car dealer for 3 hours). We were there until 8pm so I was tired and VERY hungry. Silly me didn’t realize buying a car would take 3 hours. Luckily I had enough points left in the day for Chick-Fil-A. I got my usual side salad with 8pc. nugget and fat free honey mustard dressing. I also had enough for a small waffle fries which went right in with the salad. French fries on a salad? Try it. You’ll love it. Us people from Pittsburgh invented the “french fries on everything” concept. We know what we are doing!

Anyways, I’m on track. I would have gone to the gym this morning but I woke up with some major neck/shoulder pain. I’ve decided that a lot of my neck issues must have something to do with how I am sleeping. Any suggestions? I am generally a side sleeper (sometimes back) and I use one pillow. Two pillows tend to bother me.

I have less than a week before I head to Stockholm. I’m going to make it a fabulous week in terms of eating, tracking and exercising.

Of course, I have to get through Dave’s birthday tomorrow! He gets to  pick where we are going. I have a feeling it will be either Ballymor (even though he is going tonight with his buddy) or Tribeca Tavern where the burgers are awesome. I will just keep saying to myself over and over again…fish tacos, fish tacos fish tacos. Those won’t use up all my points like a burger would!

I will leave you with a picture from the backyard Memorial Day weekend bash we attended. The dogs almost outnumbered the humans and were very keen on all of the meats that were being grilled and smoked. But I assure you, the humans looked that way around the food too!

Our buddy Tim passing out brisket to the canines (who aren't spoiled at all)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Willow Finishing Course  On June 4, 2011 at 10:07 am

    Just so you know, I have a cat named Bojangles.

    *laughing*

  • biz319  On June 4, 2011 at 10:45 am

    At my WW meeting this morning, they said that they are building a Chik-fil-A in the next town over – we don’t have those here, but I’ve heard they are good!

    That’s going to be your mantra, fish tacos, fish tacos!!

    Hang in there Rachel – I appreciated your virtual support this morning!

  • Debbi Does Dinner Healthy  On June 4, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    Yup, enough is enough. Writing things down IS the only way. I hear you.

    I love the picture of the dogs!

  • Marsial2010  On June 5, 2011 at 6:18 am

    Hi Rachel, wanted to let you know that I did make the pork yesterday. Since I didn’t have a crockpot, I had to watch it carefully in my dutch oven and use a little more liquid (I used chicken broth). Clint loved it and I liked it a lot but would reduce the amount of cinnamon if I make it again. I also added about 1/3 of a cup of golden raisins after it had been cooking for the first couple of hours and that gave it just a little sweetness. I will definitely be buying a crockpot this week! Have you ever cooked with garam masala? It’s a similar seasoning but with a little curry — I love it.

    Loved your photo with the car. Know what you mean about how exhausting car-shopping is. We learned to go just about first thing in the AM, ’cause I no longer have the stamina to last late in the evening.

  • Shelley B  On June 5, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I love that dog picture. 🙂

    Well…sometimes it takes a massive *DOH!* to say enough. I’d say you got yours. It’s such a pain, because we KNOW what to do to be successful – it’s just the implementation that is so hard sometimes (and yes, I’m talking to myself here, too).

    You’ll do great from here on – even going to Sweden. You’ve got this, Rachel!

    P.S. Our last car purchase was the easiest ever, and it STILL took over two hours. Crazy, and totally tiring.

Leave a Reply

