Walnut Rosemary Oven-Fried Chicken w/ Bourbon Mashed Sweet Potatoes

I got this recipe for Walnut Rosemary Oven-Friend Chicken from an issue of Cooking Light magazine and it. was. awesome. The serving size is a generous 6 ounces and it’s only 7 points plus. I used a bit more rosemary than the recipe called for, just because I had minced more than I really needed. Also, I used the really grainy dijon mustard…the kind where you can see the seeds…rather than a creamy one like Grey Poupon. I served this chicken with bourbon mashed sweet potatoes (see recipe below) and asparagus. It was VERY filling and extremely tasty. And of course, both the chicken and the sweet potatoes feature rosemary!

Walnut Rosemary Oven-Fried Chicken

  • YIELD: 4 servings (serving size: 1 cutlet), 7 points plus per serving
Ingredients
  • 1/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 4 (6-ounce) chicken cutlets
  • 1/3 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped walnuts
  • 2 tablespoons grated fresh Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 3/4 teaspoon minced fresh rosemary
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • Cooking spray
  • Rosemary leaves (optional)
Preparation
  • Preheat oven to 425°.
  • Combine buttermilk and mustard in a shallow dish, stirring with a whisk. Add chicken to buttermilk mixture, turning to coat.
  • Heat a small skillet over medium-high heat. Add panko to pan; cook 3 minutes or until golden, stirring frequently. Combine panko, nuts, and next 4 ingredients (through pepper) in a shallow dish. Remove chicken from buttermilk mixture; discard buttermilk mixture. Dredge chicken in panko mixture.
  • Arrange a wire rack on a large baking sheet; coat rack with cooking spray. Arrange chicken on rack; coat chicken with cooking spray. Bake at 425° for 13 minutes or until chicken is done. Garnish with rosemary leaves, if desired.

Source: Laraine Perri, Cooking Light

Bourbon Mashed Sweet Potatoes

  • YIELD: 10 servings, 3 points plus per serving
Ingredients
  • 4 cups fresh sweet potatoes, cooked and mashed (~3.5 pounds)
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar (I used the Splenda brown sugar blend)
  • 1/2 tsp vegetable seasoning (I have no idea what this is so I just threw in a bunch of rosemary)
  • 1/4 cup low-fat evaporated milk
  • 2 Tbsp light butter
  • 1 Tbsp bourbon (I used Jack Daniels b/c we didn’t have any bourbon)
Preparation
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Combine all ingredients in mixing bowl and blend until creamy (I used an immersion blender)
  • Transfer to a baking dish and bake for 15 minutes or until thoroughly heated
Source: Foodista
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • biz319  On May 18, 2011 at 9:41 am

    I absolutely love the idea of this dish! I love rosemary – have you ever fried it? Take the needles off and saute in a bit of olive oil? It brings rosemary to a whole new level – yum!

    I will have to try the sweet potato mash – I’ve just recently started to like sweet potatoes and need to branch out other than making fried sweet potato chips 😀

    Happy Wednesday!

  • Marsial2010  On May 19, 2011 at 7:36 am

    The recipe sounds very good, but I would decrease the rosemary. I love the smell of rosemary, but my tongue must be too sensitive for it — I find it too overpowering in most recipes. I always cut it to only about 1/4 of what is called for.

Leave a Reply

