Weekly Weigh In, Stress Edition ~ Rachel

I have two big presentations next week that I procrastinated about (I’m the queen of procrastination….this comic is pretty much the story of my life). On Sunday, my computer decided to give me the middle finger when I tried to install service pack 1. Apparently, if you have Windows 7 Ultimate AND you installed the language packs (because why wouldn’t you want to have the option of using Arabic as your display language), service pack 1 won’t install and you basically have to reformat your computer. Well, at least I did. The stupid thing wouldn’t let me uninstall the language packs…and then it wouldn’t even boot.

Reformatting and installing/configuring all of my programs took almost all day yesterday (My statistical program alone is a beast and takes forever). It’s now Thursday and I have a week to get everything done.

Hello stress. Nice to see you again. NOT!!! It’s my own damn fault, I know. But I can still be a little mad at my computer. Dave tells me it’s not the computer’s fault. So I’m now going to blame the Microsoft people who failed to create a service pack that worked when all of their other updates have been installed. They say Macs and PCs can’t talk to one another? Well, my Microsoft updates couldn’t talk to my other Microsoft updates. It’s like freaking high school!

Anyways…when I get this stressed, I don’t meal plan or eat right. Last night we had Cookout. Massive burgers, hush puppies and a milkshake. It was not one of my finer moments. I’d like to say I needed it but I probably didn’t. Somehow, though, garlic shrimp wasn’t going to cut it.

Add to the stress, the pain I am in with my foot…I managed 15 minutes on the Arc Trainer Monday after being scraped before it began burning. Today, I did 15 minutes on the Arc Trainer and 15 minutes on the elliptical. It still hurts like a mo-fo but at least I can hobble around. I’ll be icing it most of the day as I am chained to my desk.

All that was to say that I was up 4lbs at my meeting this morning.

BLAH.

Day one started at about 7am this morning when I had my pear with cinnamon on it and a piece of string cheese. I’m gonna go eat an egg salad sandwich and some pickles, grab my frozen water bottle (for the foot) and get to work.

You might not see me again until next Thursday after I finish my presentations. Have a good week. And if any of you live in the South, I hope you’ve been safe from those tornadoes. Good grief, my problems seem minuscule after watching the news!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana  On April 28, 2011 at 9:20 am

    “hurts like a mo-fo”

    best part of this post.

    sucks about the computer and the foot.

    dr. josh will save you!

  • Marsial2010  On May 2, 2011 at 7:33 am

    Sorry you are having so many foot/pain problems. It makes sticking to a fitness regimen so much harder, doesn’t it? I’m having a lot of sciatica problems and have had days when I can barely walk, but I keep gritting my teeth and am determined to get some exercise in every day (actually, one is supposed to NOT walk when sciatica is bad, but I am on the road to recovery, so…..)

    • Rachel Palmieri  On May 7, 2011 at 10:14 am

      Marsial, do you have access to a swimming pool? When my other foot was really bad, I could only handle being in the pool for water aerobics. It was fabulous exercise and actually kind of fun too. I’ve gone to land now since I can get my heart rate up a bit more on the cardio machines but water aerobics are what got me back into exercising. I would imagine it would be much easier on your sciatica (which I have had and oh Lord, do I understand the pain you are in!).

Leave a Reply

