Carrot Cake ~ Rachel

How was everyone’s Easter?

We had dinner at Dave’s Mom’s (Terry) house…2 of 3 sisters were there (only 1 lives here in town) which was nice. I was in charge of dessert and decided to make a carrot cake. It’s Terry’s favorite dessert and one of mine as well (the other is key lime pie) PLUS it was Easter…bunnies….carrots….you get my drift.

I gave my dogs pureed rabbit with their dog food for their Easter brunch. I’m kind of twisted like that 🙂

from Cooking Light magazine

I had only made carrot cake one time before and it was from a box. Have y’all ever tried to hunt down a good carrot cake recipe? Good grief! They are all so different! I was also trying to be somewhat healthy about it (as long as the cream cheese icing wasn’t terribly compromised I would be happy).  I happened upon Healthy Carrot Cake: Recipe Makeover – Cooking Light.

It called for 2 cups of grated carrots. I bought a bag of pre-shredded carrots at the grocery store and sort of chopped them up a little further. I think this was a mistake. Those pre-shredded/pre-packaged carrot shreds were a bit dry. I think pre-packing them sucks moisture out or something.

The cake didn’t call for anything other than carrots. No pineapple (I’m not sure how I feel about pineapple in carrot cake). No raisins (which is a shame b/c raisins in carrot cake are awesome). No coconut (I hate coconut so I was good with this).

Also, the only “spice” was cinnamon. I kind of feel like carrot cake should have some other stuff in it! I have a carrot cake cupcake recipe that calls for Chinese 5 Spice, which totally intrigues me.

In the end, the cake turned out as I probably should have suspected it would: A little on the dry side and very much on the bland side.

The cream cheese icing, on the other hand, was terrific. It saved the cake for me.

Everyone else seemed to like it. Terry was disappointed there was no pineapple or raisins! It’s good when your future mother-in-law thinks the same way you do when it comes to dessert!

So…the moral of the story is to not use pre-shredded carrots. And maybe not try to do “light” versions of your favorite dessert.

Does anyone have a good carrot cake recipe they would like to share with me?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Marsial2010  On May 2, 2011 at 7:27 am

    Rachel, I have a great recipe for carrotcake cupcakes — very moist, but they include nuts and raisins — no pineapple or coconut. I won’t make them myself while I’m still in my reducing mode, ’cause they are TOO good and I’m unable to eat just one. I generally make them with a killer orange cream cheese frosting, but it can be eliminated to save calories. I’ll send you the recipe if you really want it, but I’d suggest you wait till you’ve dropped 20 or so pounds just to be safe.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On May 7, 2011 at 10:12 am

      Marsial, I would LOVE to have your recipe…and I promise that I won’t make it unless it’s for something special. I don’t bake unless it’s for a holiday that I am bringing something to. If you wouldn’t mind, could you please email it to me? My email address is rtpalmieri@gmail.com

      Thanks! It sounds very yummy!

Leave a Reply

