Fat Bottomed Girl ~ Rachel

For the fourth time since October 2006, I saw Amos Lee perform last night. There are only 2 musicians for whom I can remember the exact moment I heard them for the first time. Ray LaMontagne is one of them…and Amos Lee is the other.

When I first moved to NC for grad school, I lived in a crappy duplex close to campus. Nate and Trevor lived on one side and I lived on the other side with Brandon. Lots of camel crickets lived in the “under the house” section where the washer and dryer were. The guys were the best of buds and I was really lucky they agreed to let me live there. We had some good times and one thing that I will always associate with each of them is music (Brandon-Weezer; Nate-Bruce Cockburn; Trevor-Dispatch).

Trevor, Brandon & Nate...sometime around 2003

Anyways, Trevor’s family has a house in Blowing Rock (the mountains of NC) that we would stay at for a weekend every fall. One year, our friend Charlie burst into the house from the road (he was coming from somewhere else….maybe Charleston) with a CD in his hand and said “You guys have to hear this!” It was Amos Lee’s “Keep It Loose, Keep It Tight” and I was an instant fan.

I will always associate Amos Lee with my guys and our trips to the mountains. Good times! Well, I clearly love Amos Lee because I’ve seen him 4 times now (1x at the Cat’s Cradle in Carrboro, 1x at the Rex Theater in Pittsburgh with my Mom and 2x at the Lincoln Theater in Raleigh). I urge you all to check Amos Lee out…he’s a mix of soul, blues, jazz, and good ole’ rock. His voice is the kicker. If you like Stevie Wonder, John Prine, Bill Withers, Norah Jones, Patty Griffin, etc, you’ll love Amos.

When I was in Pittsburgh at the Rex, Amos finished off his encore with a cover of  Queen’s Fat Bottomed Girls. It was not like the original…it rocked out more. Amos just has that kind of soul. It. was. absolutely. awesome.

Last night he did it again. I was disappointed last year because he didn’t play it but when he said last night “We’re gonna do something by Queen” I knew I was in for a treat. He had a whole band with him: drums, keyboard, sitar, standup bass, guitars, backup singers. The sound was so rich and full and in the words of my buddy Don de Leaumont who is a folk singer and heavy metal afficiando, Amos Lee melted my face off.

I wanted to share my love of Amos Lee with all of you…Below are a few videos of Amos so you can get an idea of how fabulous he is.

Oh…and while I may be a fat bottomed girl now….I won’t be in the future. Do you like how I brought this post all the way around to my losing weight journey?!?!?!?!?!?!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana  On April 23, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    smooth blog skills scuz!

  • Rachel Palmieri  On April 23, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Thanks! But, ah, Youtube just gives me the code to embed the video into the blog…I don’t actually have skillz

  • Nathan Clendenin  On April 24, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    that was a great concert!

Leave a Reply

