Cantonese Chicken & Mushrooms ~ Rachel

I had lunch at the Cheesecake Factory today. I ordered the lunch herb-crusted salmon and asked for asparagus. Do you know that they brought me? A nice portion of salmon, something like 1.5 cups worth of mashed potatoes and four, count them FOUR, spears of asparagus. This is what passes as the vegetable side? Sheesh.

I ate everything, though…including half a slice of cheesecake. And it was all delicious. I know I ate more points than I intended to, but that’s ok. I was really good this week so I’ll consider my week a success, even if it wasn’t perfect.

Tonight’s dinner was from the Food Network Magazine and oh my gosh, was it awesome! Dave even liked it!

Cantonese Chicken & Mushrooms     

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 pounds chicken tenders or skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/2 cup oyster sauce
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons peanut oil
  • 6 scallions, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 8 thin slices peeled ginger(I just used minced ginger from a jar)
  • 3 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
  • 8 to 10 ounces sliced mushrooms, such as cremini, shiitake or a mix(I doubled the amount and it still wasn’t enough mushrooms)
  • 12 ounces baby bok choy, cut crosswise into 1 1/2-inch pieces(I didn’t think Dave would like bok choy so I sliced up zucchini)
  • 1 1/4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
  • Cooked rice, for serving (optional) (I actually used rice noodles)

Directions

Toss the chicken with the oyster sauce in a bowl. Mix the cornstarch with 3 tablespoons cold water in another bowl. Place both bowls near the stove with the remaining ingredients.

Heat a wok or deep skillet over high heat until hot. Add the peanut oil, then the scallions, ginger and garlic, and stir-fry about 20 seconds. Add the chicken mixture and stir-fry until the meat is no longer pink on the outside, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in the mushrooms and bok choy. (This is where I added in the rice noodles).

Add the broth and sesame oil to the skillet and bring to a boil over high heat. Add the cornstarch mixture, return to a boil and cook, tossing, until the chicken is cooked through and the sauce is thick and glossy, 2 to 3 minutes. Serve with rice, if desired.

Per serving: Calories 303; Fat 12 g (Saturated 2 g); Cholesterol 90 mg; Sodium 415 mg; Carbohydrate 12 g; Fiber 2 g; Protein 38 g (This works out to 8 points plus per serving without the rice noodles or rice)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Debbi Does Dinner Healthy  On January 9, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    That looks delicious!! Thanks!

  • biz319  On January 10, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    How did I miss that recipe in the magazine? Thanks for pointing it out for me!

    Wow, only 4 asparagus?

    p.s. I would have had half a slice of cheesecake too – lifes too short not to have cake once in a while! 😀

Leave a Reply

