Merry Christmas weight! ~Dave

Been a long time since I posted.  Just like the rest of my life things get to crazy for me to remember to do these things.

So it has been a while since I weighed in and I do not plan to do so until after the New Year.  This holiday season has been nothing but bad food and sweets for both Rachel and I.  But it also had a big bonus!

Santa bought us a Kinect for the 360 this Christmas and I now realize what a wonderful tool this is for all of us fatty fat fats.  (That is one of my friends statements not mine.)  So I went and bought Dance Central the day after Christmas and threw it in the Kinect and fired it up to give it a try.  Lo and behold it has a workout mode sort of.  It tracks calories burned during your play time based on your weight.  So I turned it on.  6 minutes of Dance Central later, I was winded and ready to pass out bu I had burned 60 calories!!!  That is amazing!  I can’t do that on a recumbent bike or treadmill!

So the plan is get my ass back to the gym two or three times a week.  See my personal trainer once every other week.  Days I am not at the gym, I play Dance Central for at least 30 minutes.

Too add to it, we are going to buy EA Sports Active 2.0 (http://www.ea.com/games/ea-sports-active-2).  This game not only comes with a heart monitor (though it supposedly is not that great of a heart monitor) but it has a personal trainer mode that works you just like a personal trainer would…

So now not only will Virgil at the gym be yelling at me, but so will my Xbox.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • biz319  On December 29, 2010 at 10:09 am

    My grand nephew got that for Christmas and we played it – OMG, it is a workout!

    And one game we were doing took actual pictures of you so at the end, you could see yourself jumping around – too cool!

    I know you and Rachel will get back in the swing of things if you are both motivated – 2011 will rock! 😀

    Have a great day Dave!

    • dweber77  On December 29, 2010 at 10:11 am

      Biz: Actually in the middle of each song on Dance Central it has “Freestyle” mode where you just move to your hearts content. This was cool and all until I realized it was taping me dancing.

      Let’s just say Rachel had a good laugh seeing my rediculousness.

  • Jenn@slim-shoppin  On December 29, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    I’m with you Dave! I did step on the scale, and it wasn’t pretty. That’s so fun about the dancing thing, I’ve thought that watching the commercials that it could be a fun workout!

    You can do it!

Leave a Reply

