Weekly Weigh in, Arctic Edition ~ Rachel

I grew up in Pittsburgh, PA and Youngstown, OH. I scoffed at cold weather. I laughed in the face of snow (lots of lake effect snow in OH). I drove when the weather got bad. I bundled up and thought nothing of the cold.

Well, times sure have changed because I’ve become a complete and total pansy. I blame living in NC for 7 years. My blood has thinned. This past Saturday I was supposed to head to the next town over to have sushi and frozen yogurt with a friend. Well, the snow was coming down. I wasn’t really worried about my ability to drive in the snow since it was barely sticking to the grass let alone the roads. I was more worried about the morons on the road who PANIC at the sight of the white stuff. Sure enough, a friend got stuck on the highway for some reason. I decided that dealing with idiots on the road was no way to spend a Saturday night so I stayed home, put on White Christmas and wrapped presents. I do this annually. Once White Christmas ended, I popped in Love Actually (my new tradition). I wouldn’t say that I wussed out. I was being smart about how to spend my time!

Now, the temperature is a whole other story. Holy crap Batman is it frakkin’ cold!!! We’ve had wind chills in the 20’s the past few days and I am miserable. My blood went south…like deep south. Dave bought me a Jayne Cobb hat for Christmas but he gave it to me already since I need it so badly. It’s a fabulously warm, wool hat with ear covers!  You might be asking who the heck Jayne Cobb is. Well, he was a space cowboy on Joss Whedon’s Firefly…possibly Whedon’s best series that got cancelled by FOX (boooo FOX) in its first season. He was a very manly and tough character. In one of the episodes, he receives this hat from his mother and wears it most of the episode.  Jayne Cobb was played by Adam Baldwin…who now plays John Casey on Chuck, another one of my favorite shows. If you lean toward the geeky side of things, I recommend you try both of those shows out. Adam Baldwin is awesome!

Anyways, on to the non-related weather news. After one week on the new Weight Watchers Points Plus Program, I am down 4 pounds to 220. I would love to get back to my lowest since being with WW  (212) by Christmas. I think I can do it!

If you would like your very own Jayne Cobb hat, check out etsy but good luck. ThinkGeek posted something about this hat and now everyone wants one!

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana Gates  On December 7, 2010 at 11:19 am

    you’re quite the trend setter with that new hat of yours 😉

  • Shelley B  On December 8, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I have learned more about a Jayne Cobb hat than I ever realized I needed to know! 🙂 Hey, I’m all for anything to keep you warm – and like you, I’ve become a cold-weather pansy. My husband finally put a blanket in the car for when we’re riding together because I turn the heat up and he claims he is going to pass out from the warmth. So I tuck in like I’m on a carriage ride, lol.

    Congrats on the 4 pound loss – that’s awesome! I told a friend about the new WW points systems and she’s trying it, too. Heck, I may give it a go in a couple of months – I’d still like to see if I could get another 10 – 15 pounds off.

    I haven’t watched Love Actually yet this year – I’m saving it for the perfect day. I adore that movie!

  • biz319  On December 9, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    I am so excited to start the new WW program! Question – do you buy a monthly pass or just pay as you go? Just wondering.

    Congrats on -4 – I hope to be a big loser like you next week!

    Hugs,

    Biz

    • Rachel Palmieri  On December 9, 2010 at 4:35 pm

      Hey Biz! How exciting that you’re gonna start WW! I buy the monthly pass. I knew I was going to be in for the long haul so it just made more sense to pay $40/month instead of something like $60 if you do weekly. Plus, it’s handy to have all that information online at your fingertips. I don’t use etools to track my food but it’s nice to look up foods/restaurants/recipes and to build recipes.

  • Nik  On December 9, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Congrats!!! Sounds like the new WW isn’t throwing you off too much?

    Wait wait — Since when are you a firefly fan? I need pictures of you in a Jayne Cobb hat. Please tell me it is orange and yellow.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On December 10, 2010 at 6:52 am

      I’ve been a Firefly fan since I lived with Mary Beth (Thanks MB) and my hat looks almost exactly like the hat Adam Baldwin wears above…yes, it is orange and yellow (and red)!

  • Marsial2010  On December 10, 2010 at 7:15 am

    Ah, to be young again and wear weird and wild creations. I had actually been looking for a similar pattern with flaps for my winter knitting project. Here’s one I found that I’m going to try: http://people.uleth.ca/~hodd/Knitting/ChulloPattern.htm
    If it turns out okay I will post a photo on my blog.

Leave a Reply

