Weekly Weigh In, Starting Over Edition ~ Rachel

WW was a bit of a zoo today since they are rolling out the new Points Plus program this week. I’m up 3+lbs to 224 but that’s ok. Today is a new day. Today, I start over.

I got to the meeting with a rumbling stomach. I didn’t want to eat anything because (a) I was weighing in and (b) I knew today was my fresh start and I had to start counting points the new way (but didn’t know how yet).I got my less than stellar weigh in news and then found my seat along with everyone else as we discussed the new program.

I used to get 29 points per day. Now I get 36. I used to get 35 extra weekly points. Now I get 49. Fruit used to cost points. Now it doesn’t. I guess I am going to start eating more fruit! I haven’t figured it all out yet but it looks like the proteins didn’t really go up in points but the carbohydrates did. That means I have to eat more lean meat, fruit and veggies and probably a little less of carbohydrates and processed foods (since those tend to be higher in carbs/sugars). Huh. Imagine that. We’re supposed to eat lean meat, fruits and veggies and stay away from the processed crap. It’s not rocket science, people! But apparently there is a complicated formula that WW uses for all these points. Better them than me. I’ll just keep tracking my points and let them do the hard work!

When I left my meeting, I was a little bit overwhelmed that I have to literally erase everything in my mind about food and points and start over. But, at the same time, this will make me focus again. And boy oh boy have I been lacking in focus recently.

I went straight to the grocery store. You what I bought? Check this out:

Clementines, bananas, apples, pears, grapes, stir-fry veggie mix, green onion, mushrooms, sweet potatoes, whole wheat bagel thins, Smart Ones frozen dinners (I start my new job at an actual office tomorrow…no more pj’s and random cooked lunches for me), frozen veggies, lean pork chops, and the new Food Network magazine.

Know what I ate what I got home? A pear and 3 soft cooked eggs.

Oh yeah. I’m back in the saddle again!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jenn@slim-shoppin  On November 30, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Go Rachel!!!! Actually I think having more points is awesome. I always hated having breakfast and being in the teens already for points left for the day.

    You can do it!! I’m right there with you!

  • Shelley B  On December 1, 2010 at 11:16 am

    The new program sounds really healthy and I love what all you bought at the grocery store. That said, I laughed at what you actually ate, because that’s something I would have done, too – grocery shopping is tiring!

  • Marsial2010  On December 1, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Hi Rachel! Good luck with your fresh start and new WW plan. It’s discouraging when we gain back some weight, but I am personaly encouraged by seeing someone like you refusing to give up. I’m still a little baffled that WW would let one eat lots and lots of fruit, however. I love fruit and could easily eat 1000 calories or more of it a day. What am I missing? Or am I misinterpreting what zero points mean?

    • Rachel Palmieri  On December 1, 2010 at 9:57 pm

      I think they are giving us “free” fruits to push us towards choosing fruit as a snack or dessert over something “bad” for you/processed. They are probably assuming most people wouldn’t eat 1000 calories a day in fruit! LOL. If I ate that much fruit, I would have some serious digestive tract issue. Though 1000 calories is probably only 4 big bananas (that’s still a lot of fruit in my book). My guess is that it’s somehow built into the extra points we get per day now that the program changed. I guess I’ll (a) see if I start eating more fruit and (b) if I do, if it hurts my weight loss!

  • biz319  On December 6, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I haven’t read all about the new program yet, but I am glad that fruit is zero points!

    Hope your new job is going well – maybe with some work structure the food structure will follow too!

    Hugs!
    Biz

Leave a Reply

