Weekly Weigh In, Stress Edition ~ Rachel

The last Weight Watcher meeting I attended was on 10/19/2010. I weighed in at my lowest weight in a super long time (212.2lbs).

Then the proverbial shit hit the fan and I stopped making me a priority. I skipped a meeting because I needed to sleep. Ok, I would argue that I was actually making myself a priority there because if I am sleeping in until 9am, I know I needed it! I then skipped a meeting because I had to get work done. You’ve read before that our data manager left in September and I’m the one who got to pick up the pieces…well, I still get to pick up the pieces. That has become my priority which is ridiculous since I only get paid for 20 hours of work per week and I put way more than that in.  Then I skipped a meeting because I was in DC for a 3 day meeting/conference. That couldn’t be avoided but along with all these WW meetings that I’ve skipped, I’ve also skipped eating healthy, tracking my food, meal planning and exercise.

After about a month, I made it back to WW this morning. I was greeted with a hug from my leader, Bev, and everyone was happy to see me. Remember on Cheers when everyone would shout “Norm!” when he walked into the bar? Well, it was kind of like that. It felt good to be back “home.” It did not feel good to see 220.8lbs on the scale though. I haven’t seen that number since July. It’s amazing how quickly weight can creep up on you. Who I am kidding? I knew it was coming. I wasn’t the least bit surprised. I had terrible habits in the past month. It was as if I had never lost 50lbs!

My goal from now through the holiday season is to make me the priority. This means I get to the gym regularly. This means I plan meals, grocery shop, cook new recipes and track all my food and points. This means I work on my dissertation.

Is it going to be easy? OMG it is sooooo NOT going to be easy. We are still trying to hire a new data  manager and while someone else has been hired who can take some of the burden away from me, there is still a mile-long to do list on my end on top of training 2 people on everything. Add in the holidays and 3 trips to Charlotte between now and Christmas. It is not going to be easy at all.

Beginning Dec 1st, I am actually going to be working at Duke 3 days a week rather than working from home. This complicates my routine a bit since I now have to plan exercise in the morning around needing to get to work and wanting to do so when the traffic isn’t horrendous. It also complicates meal prep and all those related domestic duties.

But you know what? I think I just have to get in task master mode, make a schedule, stick to it and tell everyone NO when they ask me to do something that strays from my plan. It’s a lot easier said than done, especially since I am a people pleaser, but it’s time I start making myself happy rather than everyone else.

My new schedule doesn’t start until Dec 1st but I will be making some changes beginning a few hours ago. I’ve tracked everything I put in my mouth so far today. And while I am skipping the gym today because my hamstring is killing me (no idea what I did), I have a plan in place for Thursday morning.

Sorry for all of my word vomitting…I think I just needed to ramble a bit and get myself psyched up for the rest of 2010.

How do you make yourself a priority when things get insane?

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Stacie  On November 16, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Glad you are back — I enjoy your posts and think your weight loss this year is inspiring. For me, scheduling is the only way to keep myself a priority. Just develop the right routine and that should help. With the new job stuff, maybe plan so that you are finished at the gym around 9:00AM and driving post rush hour? You can do this!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On November 18, 2010 at 8:20 am

      Thanks, Stacie! Yep, I’m thinking I might hit the gym before work and just stay at Duke until after the evening rush hour. I don’t have enough time to sit in traffic!

  • Ana Gates  On November 16, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Mom says you’ll be in Charlotte for Thanksgiving (meaning there will be quite the dog party at her house), but I’m done with classes on December 1. I’d love to make gym dates with you during semester break!

    Last night I tried RPM 60 for the first time…KILLER!

    anyways, I’m super game if you are : )

    • Rachel Palmieri  On November 18, 2010 at 8:22 am

      Yes, lets’s do some classes….though Zumba is a bit tough on my foot so I can’t do that too much! And I had a friend who did RPM and pretty much wanted to vomit the rest of the night. I don’t know if I am ready for that just yet. Maybe Body Pump?

  • Mark  On November 16, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I think you just have to do what you said, and just do it no matter what. I also think, by doing that, and succeeding for yourself, you may actually start to perceive your life as less insane.
    In my world of exercise, 8 lbs is not a lot, and for me probably mostly water. I wouldn’t worry about too much, its all part of the journey. It can be hard at times, and thats why most people don’t persevere like you are, so you should be proud. Just keep to the journey, and all will be well. What will you do when you reach your desired weight anyway?! Stop? no. Gain some back on purpose so you can lose it again? no. Keep going with a different perspective? Most likely….Your changing your physical health as well as your mental with all the discipline involved, and the care you have for your own well being, so its like a spiritual journey. A spiritual journey has 2 parts, a beginning, and a continuation, there is no end. So just enjoy the continuation forward, and don’t get caught up on where your at on the path.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On November 18, 2010 at 8:32 am

      I guess I have to reframe my “going backwards” mentality into it just being continuation forward on my journey….there is no going back!!

  • biz319  On November 18, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I am glad you are back on track Rachel – instead of throwing in the towel and eating your way through the holidays just to get back on January 1 with the rest of the world.

    Planning is key. Having a meal plan, spending the 30 minutes a night putting your food together for the next day and getting the exercise in.

    I was NEVER a morning person, in fact, I had it timed that I could sleep as late as 8:16 and still get ready, shower and be at my desk at 8:45.

    If morning is the only time to exercise, try getting up 15 minutes earlier every few days – before you know it, you’ll be able to get up.

    We can get through the holidays!! Hugs!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On November 18, 2010 at 4:17 pm

      Biz, you are the most efficient person I “know!” How you meal plan and shop and cook all those fabulous meals (in your own kitchen and at work) and fit in exercise is beyond me. If I could have half of your ability to get things done, I would be in great shape (literally and figuratively!)

  • Jenn@slim-shoppin  On November 18, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    Did you ever see the Seinfeld episode where George does the opposite of what he always did? Then he gets a job, he gets a date with a girl etc… I keep thinking that’s who I need to be this Holiday season. Do the opposite of what I would normally do, don’t over-commit myself, say no sometimes, and relax more. Tomorrow is my pot luck at work. Everyone would expect me to make something, but instead I am bringing assorted nuts! No cooking and I feel great that I will not be spending tonight cooking and cleaning for 3 hours!
    You went back Rachel, and that’s awesome. You can do it!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On November 23, 2010 at 8:21 am

      I have a feeling that if I suddenly did the opposite of what I normally do, the world’s balance would go all kaplooey! But maybe that’s the whole point…it actually won’t 🙂

Leave a Reply

