Pumpkin Chiffon Cake ~ Rachel

I’ve been running ragged the last couple of weeks and have this one crazy week left before I go to Bethesda, MD  for a big meeting. When I get home next Tuesday night, I will have day one again. Day one of tracking. Day one of exercising regularly. Day one of eating healthy. Right now, I’m just trying to not go crazy before my meeting. You won’t hear from me until I get back so until then, enjoy this recipe for pumpkin chiffon cake that I got out of Rachael Ray’s Every Day November issue!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 eggs, separated, plus 5 egg whites, at room temperature
  • 1 cup canned pure pumpkin puree
  • Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325°. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, 3/4 cup granulated sugar, the pumpkin pie spice, baking powder and salt. In a medium bowl, combine the egg yolks and pumpkin puree. Stir the pumpkin mixture into the flour mixture until smooth.
  2. Using an electric mixer with a whisk attachment, whip the remaining 9 egg whites at medium speed until foamy, about 2 minutes. With the machine on, gradually whisk in the remaining 1/2 cup granulated sugar; increase the speed to high and beat until stiff but still moist, 1 to 2 minutes.
  3. Add one-quarter of the egg white mixture to the pumpkin batter, folding with a rubber spatula just until no streaks remain. Fold in the remaining egg white mixture in the same manner. Pour the batter into a 10-inch tube pan with a removable bottom and bake until springy to the touch and a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 55 minutes.
  4. Let cool in the cake pan for 5 minutes, then invert the pan onto a narrow-necked bottle and let hang upside down until completely cool, about 1 1/2 hours. Place the cake right side up and remove the pan. To serve, dust the cake with the confectioners’ sugar.

Rachel’s commentary:

  • I didn’t have time to let my eggs and egg whites get to room temperature. Between that and my inability to whip egg whites to the desired stiffness level, my cake came out a little…well…it didn’t quite stay together 100%
  • I had a regular old tube pan with an intact bottom…so I did none of that hanging upside down and taking the bottom out business. I don’t think that contributed to my cake being a little messy but you never know.
  • Have fun folding all those whipped egg whites into your pumpkin mixture and make sure you have a really big bowl to do it in. It seemed to take FOREVER! My arm was getting tired. And I work out!
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Debbi Does Dinner Healthy  On November 5, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Oh, this looks good! Thanks! I am so loving pumpkin this year!

  • biz319  On November 6, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Rachel – this looks so good! Fingers crossed your meetings go well! 😀

  • Andrea Capelli  On November 11, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    How many egg yolks should be in this batter???

    • Rachel Palmieri  On November 11, 2010 at 9:51 pm

      4 egg yolks, 9 egg whites

  • biz319  On November 12, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Hope you have a great weekend Rachel! 😀

Leave a Reply

