Peanut Butter Time (with or without jelly) ~ Rachel

Everyone loves peanut butter. Adults love it. Kids love it. Dogs love it. Unless you have a peanut allergy, I bet you love peanut butter.

I am no different. Give me a spoon and a container of JIF and I am a happy woman. I tried the natural peanut butters but I think I missed the sugar that was in JIF. I pretty much stick to JIF reduced-fat creamy peanut butter, even though I know there is some added stuff in there that’s probably not the best for you.

I once tried Better ‘N Peanut Butter. Talk about an epic fail! It was unbelievably disgusting. It tasted metallic and plastic at the same time. Oh, it was awful! After that, I swore I would never try a peanut butter substitute again.

100% awful taste is more like it!

Fast forward to the present day. I kept hearing about PB2, a powdered peanut butter that you mix with water. I was skeptical. I mean…REALLY skeptical. The company, Bell Plantation, slow roasts peanuts and then presses them to remove the fat and oil. All you have to do is mix 2 Tbsp of PB2 powder with 1 Tbsp water (I used a little more water) and stir until it’s smooth. With all of the glowing reviews, I figured I would give it a shot. Peanut butter is high in fat and calories (and therefore, WW points) but if I could eat it everyday without packing on the points, that would be a good thing.

My order came yesterday and I decided to give it a shot for my breakfast of toasted english muffin, peanut butter and pumpkin butter. Immediately upon opening the jar and removing the freshness seal, you are hit with the smell of real peanuts. It smelled right. It didn’t look right but then again, powder of any sort doesn’t. I had to add a little more than 1 Tbsp of water to get the right level of smoothness but that wasn’t a big deal. This is where Kharma, my shepherd, came running with her twitching nose in the air. She knows from rooms away when a peanut butter jar has been opened and I thought it was a good sign she came running! I tasted the peanut butter and it was alright! It tasted more like the natural peanut butters that I couldn’t wrap my taste buds around because of the smaller sugar amounts. The texture was fine too! Again, not like JIF but I’m pretty sure JIF is not really the way peanut butter is supposed to be.

I put the PB2 on my toasted english muffin and topped it with my pumpkin butter and had a very tasty breakfast.

I’ll probably always have a jar of JIF in the house for those days when I need some regular ole peanut butter from yester year. But I’ll be keeping lots of jars of PB2 in the house (you probably need to order online and so it’s more economical to buy in bulk) for everyday use. They even have recipes online for other uses of PB2 AND there is a chocolate PB2 which will be nice to try.

Here is a comparison of PB2 and Reduced Fat Creamy JIF for your reading pleasure. I’m amazed that the PB2 is so peanutty and tastes good given how low in calories it is!

PB2 Ingredients: roasted peanuts, sugar, salt

JIF ingredients: peanuts, corn syrup solids, sugar and soy protein, a bunch of other stuff at less than 2% each (lots of chemical names)

PB2 calories, fat, fiber, sugar per 2Tbsp: 45, 1.5g, 2g, 1g (1 point)

JIF calories, fat, fiber, sugar per 2 Tbsp: 190, 12g, 1g, 4g (5 points)

Thanks to Debbi for mentioning PB2 in her last post, prompting me to give it a shot!

I dare you all to give PB2 a try!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana Gates  On October 21, 2010 at 7:51 am

    😛 i want to try it. what grocery store did you get it from?

    • Rachel Palmieri  On October 21, 2010 at 7:52 am

      I don’t think any stores in this state sell it so I ordered it online. I’ve got 2 unopened containers of the regular peanut butter and one of the chocolate peanut butter. You’re welcome to come get some 🙂

  • Ana Gates  On October 21, 2010 at 8:00 am

    i’m going to come over and have a PB party with Kharmita 🙂

  • dweber77  On October 21, 2010 at 8:12 am

    I am not touching it with a 10 foot pole.

  • Marsial2010  On October 21, 2010 at 10:35 am

    It sounds interesting. I like the lower fat, lower calories. I’m willing to give it a try. Thanks.

  • anna  On October 21, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    I’d love to try it but it has sugar. I love the natural peanut butters because they don’t taste sugary. Hmmm. May still try it.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On October 21, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      It doesn’t taste sugary at all if that’s what you are worried about!

  • Brettania  On October 21, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Sounds great and I’m so glad you found this, I just also wish they made a sugar-free version. I eat only the natural PBs without sugar and I like them a lot. I would love to find a sugar-free, low-cal, low-fat version of PB though.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On October 21, 2010 at 2:26 pm

      There is only 1g of sugar if that helps…but maybe email the company and see if they have a SF version in the works

  • Nikki J  On October 21, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Wait, how is it that PB2 is 5 points while Jif is only 1?

    • Rachel Palmieri  On October 21, 2010 at 5:35 pm

      I was having a blonde moment 😉 Thanks for catching that!

  • Shelley B  On October 22, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    I tried PB2 a couple of years ago when I first started dieting. Did not like the taste, but then again, I was a Jif lover. I’ve gotten used to natural peanut butters since then, so I should give this stuff another try. Thanks for the reminder!

  • Rachel's Cottage House  On October 30, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    I agree with you 100% on the peanut butter. #1, I love it also. #2 “good for you peanut butters,” don’t seem to be quite the same. They are either A.) too liquidy, or B.) too unsalted. Yes, they are better, but the taste never seems to measure up.

Leave a Reply

