Cider-Braised Chicken Thighs with Sweet Potatoes and Sage ~ Rachel

I really love fall. The colors, the temperatures, the food, the smells, the NFL (Go Steelers!)….I could go on and on about my love for fall.  And although we hit 95 degrees today, I’ve decided to say good riddance to summer and welcome fall with wide open arms. Weight Watchers posted a recipe for Cider-Braised Chicken Thighs with Sweet Potatoes and Sage a week or so ago and I decided to make it tonight, supplementing it with some crusty wheat bread and some broccolini.

Cider Braised Chicken Thighs with Sweet Potatoes

Dave really enjoyed the meal and didn’t even say to me “You know what this needs?” He even ate his broccolini! He’s not a fan of the stems (of any vegetable really) so those went to the dogs. Kharma especially enjoyed hers. Dave pointed out that we can never teach our children that our dogs like vegetables! Baby carrots are their favorites!

Anyways, I digress. The one thing I did different from the recipe is that I essentially minced the shallots and didn’t use as many (Dave is very sensitive to the onion family). I also didn’t have any fresh thyme (I used dried) which I bet would seriously knock this dish out of the park! The meal was super easy to make and tasted like fall. YUM!

I’ve a feeling that I’ll be posting more recipes than I have been recently. I love cooking in the fall with pumpkin, squash, nuts, cinnamon, etc. Tis the season for good eats!

Tomorrow’s dinner? Pumpkin risotto served with roasted portabello mushrooms. My mouth is watering already 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana Gates  On September 23, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    hiiiiiiiiiiiiii, i don’t feel like cooking right now so i’m on my way over for dinner 😛

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On September 23, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Yum! We had a boring dinner of low-fat macaroni & cheese.

  • Debbi Does Dinner Healthy  On September 24, 2010 at 8:54 am

    I LOVE sweet potatoes! This looks delicious! DId you save me any?

  • Shelley B  On September 24, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    Dang, both this recipe and the lemon asparagus one look so tasty!

  • Marsial2010  On September 24, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    Rachel, recipe sounds delicious! I cook with chicken and sweet potatoes frequently, but rarely use them together. This is one to try.

  • Rachel's Cottage House  On September 26, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Wow, this sounds absolutely fabulous!

  • biz319  On September 28, 2010 at 11:51 am

    I bought a sage herb plant this year for the first time and love it! I would be with Dave on the onion aversion too! 😀

  • Jenn@slim-shoppin  On October 4, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Hi Rachel and Dave!

    I am like you, I love everything about fall, eating soup, baking bread, making cookies, staying inside!

    Your dish looks amazing! Great pic!

Leave a Reply

