Onions ~ Rachel

Sorry for the lack of posting in awhile, folks! I didn’t make it to my WW meeting last Tuesday and I haven’t been to the gym in about a week. I will be back to my healthy routine tomorrow…even though the scale at WW is going to spit out quite an ugly reading. Oh well. I went a little nutso for a couple of weeks but I can/will get back to the good stuff in no time.

Anyways, I wanted to share with you all something that happened this weekend. Dave and I took the furkids to Charlotte to visit my Dad and step-family. We were going to be celebrating Frampa (step-grandfather’s nickname) 85th birthday and Framma (step-grandmother’s nickname) and Frampa’s 64th wedding anniversary. That’s a lot of years!

We went to their house on Saturday evening for dinner. As we do in this family, we were sitting around the kitchen table eating appetizers. And by eating, I mean stuffing our faces. My step-mom makes this really awesome hot onion dip (sliced onions, mayo, cheese…baked to perfection) that is just awesome with crackers. Or just a big spoon if I am being honest with you.

My wine glass was empty so I asked Dave to go get me some more. He filled the glass, put it on the table and just as I was shoveling a cracker with a huge pile of onion dip into my mouth….

A ring appears in front of me and I hear “Will you marry me?”

This is what I looked like:

As I had just shoved a bunch of onions in my mouth and just had my pants shocked off of me, I couldn’t breathe or swallow!!! I eventually squeaked out a yes, swallowed the onions and then he got down on one knee and asked again.

You didn’t really think this post was going to be about onions, did ya? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • suzanne  On September 6, 2010 at 8:15 am

    Congratulations!! What an awesome way to ask for your hand in marriage ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Ana Gates  On September 6, 2010 at 11:01 am

    ๐Ÿ˜€ LOVE IT

  • Shelley B  On September 6, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    AWWW!!! Congratulations Rachel and Dave – what a happy time in your lives! Thanks for sharing that – the pictures are priceless!!

    Now, close up of the ring, please?

  • biz319  On September 6, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!! So excited for you guys!

    I love the look on your face Rachel!!

  • Debbi Does Dinner Healthy  On September 6, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    You’ll always think of that when you have that onion dip! You’ll have to have it at your wedding!! Congrats!

  • MaryB  On September 7, 2010 at 10:51 am

    This is my first time here (I followed a link on Biz’s blog!) but I had to say Congratulations! And what a cute story!:D

  • Nicole  On September 7, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Aww! Congrats!

  • Rebecca H  On September 8, 2010 at 3:49 am

    Congrats you two!

Leave a Reply

