Milestones ~ Rachel

When I began this weight loss and healthy living journey on January 12th, I weighed 265.4lbs. By the end of March I had lost 10% of my initial body weight, lowering my risk of Type 2 Diabetes, heart disease, etc. I even got to sign my name on the 10% wall at Weight Watchers on 3/23/2010. Today…

I got to add today’s date to my name on the 10% wall because I have now lost 20% of my starting weight!!!

Whenever I see 20%, all I can think of are those Bed Bath & Beyond coupons that are everywhere…you know, the ones that have expiration dates but don’t actually expire? The ones that people stockpile and never leave home without? The ones that allow people to never pay full price on any item in BB&B ever again? The ones that provoke an “oh horror!” when you run out of them?

20% off a $5 item is no big deal. I mean, I like to save money anywhere I can but saving $1 is nothing to write home about. 20% off a $265 item, on the other hand,Β  is totally a big deal!

Anyways, I digress a little bit. There is a “sale” gene that I inherited from my mother’s side of the family that causes ones mind to think about shopping whenever a percentage is brought to your attention (Yes, I am talking about you: Mom, Grandma, Aunt Monica, Aunt Grace).

So I now weigh 212.8lbs. This is not a number I have seen in a very long time. And while it’s 20% less than my starting weight, it’s also more than 50lbs less than my starting weight. In the past few times I’ve attempted to lose weight, I always seemed to stop after losing about 30lbs.

A new day has dawned and despite the rain outside today, the forecast is sunny!

I have already prepaid for an Aveda facial in anticipation of this day…I just have to schedule it now. I am also going to purchase a pendant from www.liftyoursole.com:

I had the courage to start. I have the strength to endure. Resolve to finish? Well, I’m going to apply that thought to my dissertation, which will be finished in a matter of months. Living a healthy lifestyle at a healthy weight that I can maintain? I’m not sure there is really an end to that so I’ll have to rely on all my strength to keep on keeping on!

I think I can.

I think I can.

I think I can.

I KNOW I CAN!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • dweber77  On August 24, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Congrats hun! I knew you could do it, now I am jealous though. Also the first letter of each sentence of that pendent spells CSR…

  • Kelley  On August 24, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Congratulations, Rachel!

  • Ana Gates  On August 24, 2010 at 11:34 am

    i inherited said gene too. πŸ˜›

  • Lynn @ The Next Chapter  On August 24, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Congrats on reaching your 20%, that is awesome!! πŸ™‚

  • Grace  On August 24, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Congratulations! This was an awesome entry to read. I am proud of you. (I am also proud of my bargain shopping gene) πŸ™‚

  • Mom  On August 24, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    I am so proud of you!! LOL reading your blog! I am proud to have passed that bargain gene on to you!
    Love, Mom

  • Debbi Does Dinner Healthy  On August 24, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I can just FEEL your excitement!! It IS exciting to see results isn’t it! Good for you, keep it up!!

  • Mark  On August 24, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Awesome! This is great! Im real proud of ya!

  • Floriana  On August 24, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Well done! Congrats!

    I am just a few pounds away from my second 10% goal and I can’t wait to get there. I can totally relate to this post.

  • Shelley B  On August 24, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Woohoo Rachel!!! Congratulations!!! I cracked up at the BB&B coupon for your 20% reference – I have several of them sitting on my desk right now, lol!

    Love that charm and how it speaks to you – glad you are getting it.

  • Alan  On August 24, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Rachel, I am really proud of you. 50 lbs is awesome! I know you’ll have the resolve to finish… Jocelyn and I will definitely keep you in our prayers!

  • Rebecca H  On August 25, 2010 at 4:34 am

    Congrats!

  • Rachel's Cottage House  On August 25, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Wow, WONDERFUL job Rachel!!!

  • biz319  On August 28, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Way to go Rachel!!! Woot – so excited for you!

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On August 31, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Congratulations Rachel – that is a huge accomplishment and one to be proud of. Question – what’s your goal? Will it be a certain percentage of body weight gone or just a certain number on the scale?

    • Rachel Palmieri  On September 1, 2010 at 9:34 am

      Thanks, Diane! I’m not really sure what my goal is! The highest weight goal I can have according to Weight Watchers, without a doctor’s note, is 164. I’m not sure that’s a realistic goal as I’ve never weighed that in my adult life. I think as I get closer to that number I’ll have a better idea what weight I want to stick around.

  • Jenn@slim-shoppin  On September 3, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    YES YOU CAN RACHEL!! You are doing awesome my friend and now I want a pendant like that too!

    I actually used a Bed Bath and Beyond 20% coupon to buy a Dyson vacuum cleaner! I had no idea on the bottom of the coupon it had some exclusions, and I must have had a new cashier, but I got the discount. Afterwards I told my Mom and she couldn’t believe I got that kind of a deal!

  • Lupe Mente  On December 30, 2010 at 1:28 am

    I was hoping to reference your post for a term paper I am writing. If so, can you please email me?

Leave a Reply

