Favorite Workout Songs ~ Rachel

Music is a HUGE part of my life. I have over 160GB of it on my computer and it is almost always playing in the house. I enjoy silence from time to time but for the most part, my life has a soundtrack. Music plays an even bigger role in my exercise routine. I unfortunately can’t listen to it while I’m strength training. I have one of the large iPods and I don’t want it strapped to me or dragging down a pocket. When I’m on the stationary bike, I’m either listening to my iPod or plugged into the tv watching Rachael Ray or ESPN. The Arc Trainer is another story. I can’t plug into a tv. And the music pumped out into the gym just doesn’t cut most of the time. I have to have my iPod going full blast. When I run out of battery in the middle of a workout on the Arc Trainer, the remainder of the workout is tortuous and takes forever to be done with. Music is my fuel when I’m trying to get my heart rate up!

My music tastes, in general, range from heavy metal to opera to jazz to classic rock. My workout music is a little narrower than that but there is definitely a wide array of genres shuffled on my iPod. Here are my top ten favorite songs to workout to….maybe you’ll find them perfect for your workout too!

10. Poison by Bel Biv Devoe: I grew up in the 90’s. Nuff said.

9. Bad Romance by Lady Gaga: Yeah, she’s a little weird. But damn, her music is catchy!

8. I Know You Want Me by Pitbull: Perfect beat!

7. Canned Heat by Jamiroquai: I bet you would all pay good money to see me do this in the gym! I didn’t care for this movie but I do love Jamiroquai!

6. Dragostea Din Tei by O-Zone…otherwise known as the Numa Numa song: This is one of the first viral videos I ever saw and it still makes me laugh. A song that can keep me moving AND put a smile on my face? Definitely top ten material!

5. It’s Not Right But It’s Ok by Whitney Houston: When I was in college, I used to go to Pegasus, the gay club downtown, to dance my booty off. I used to wear cute clothing and my sneakers and I caught hell from my best friend every time. I still get ribbed about wearing my trainers to the dance club. But you know what? I danced my ass off and had a good time. The gay clubs have WAY better music to dance to!

4. Motown Philly By Boyz II Men: Did I mention I grew up in the 90’s?

3. American Girl by Tom Petty: “Oh yeah! Alright! Take it easy, baby!” This song never ever gets old.

2. Badlands by Bruce Springsteen: Bruce is my favorite musician but I don’t generally think of his music as workout music. However, Badlands has the most absolute PERFECT timing that keeps my Arc training on beat at a really quick pace! Bonus points for transporting me back to the three concerts I’ve seen him at…that song gets the crowd pulsating!

1. Gonna Fly Now from the Rocky soundtrack: I may have mentioned that Rocky is my favorite movie of all time and that the music really gets me going. I’m not lying, really. All I have to do is hear those iconic first few notes of Gonna Fly Now and I become Rocky Balboa, running through the streets of Philly at dawn, punching slabs of meat and bounding up the steps at the art museum. Any song from the Rocky soundtracks will get me going but this one totally transports me to the streets of Philadelphia.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Marsial2010  On August 23, 2010 at 6:54 am

    Nice way of displaying your favorite music, Rachel. I like Badlands and Bad Romance (must be something about the word “bad” — I have a couple of other “bads” on my list). Here are some of my favorites listed A – L (if I go to Z, the list will be far too long):

    1. Another One Bites the Dust – Queen
    2. Armegideon Time – The Clash
    3. Bad Day – R.E.M.
    4. Bad Romance – Lady Gaga
    5. Bad to the Bone – George Thorogood
    6. Beat It – Michael Jackson
    7. Better Be Good To Me – Tina Turner
    8. Crazy Love – Ray Charles & Van Morrison
    9. Dancing With Myself – Billy Idol
    10. Everybody Knows – Leonard Cohen
    11. I Forgot That Love Existed – Van Morrison
    12. It Once Was My Life – Van Morrison
    13. Land Down Under – Men at Work
    14. The Letter – Joe Cocker
    15. Life During Wartime – The Talking Heads
    16. Like a Prayer – Madonna
    17. Losing My Religion – R.E.M.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On August 23, 2010 at 8:47 pm

      Some of those are great! Though I’m not sure I could workout to Van Morrison…he’s more suited to me sipping coffee and reading magazines 🙂

  • Debbi Does Dinner Healthy  On August 23, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    I”ve got a weird playlist! It’s all over the place but I like it and it gets me moving!!

    Wake Up – Hilary Duff
    I Gotta Feeling – Black Eyed Peas
    Amor Prohibido – Selena
    Surrender – Cheap Trick
    Slang – Def Leppard
    Because of You – 98 Degrees
    Psycho – Puddle of Mudd
    All Fired Up – Pat Benatar
    Who Says You Can’t Go Home – Bon Jovi
    Spiderwebs – No Doubt
    Gloria – Laura Branigan
    Learn to Fly – Foo Fighters
    Fantasy – Mariah Carey

    • Rachel Palmieri  On August 24, 2010 at 5:47 am

      I would never in a million years have guessed that you listened (and liked) any Puddle of Mudd, LOL!

      • Debbi Does Dinner Healthy  On August 24, 2010 at 7:06 am

        There is just something compelling about that song! Plus my friend and I switch off being the Szitzophrenic Psycho and the Paranoid Flake!!! The fact that is in the same playlist as Hilary Duff does make it odd. 🙂

Leave a Reply

