My reality check ~ Rachel

Yesterday, I was kicking ass and taking names. I held my plank for a minute. I did lots of leg exercises and a ton of core exercises. Normally, I would be grumbling about that workout but since I was so awesome doing it, there is nothing to complain about it.

Today, I had my ass handed to me on a plate by a teeny tiny woman named Gigi. My cousin Ana joined me at the gym today because she wanted to try Zumba. I would occasionally catch glimpses of the class while on the Arc Trainer or the stationary bike and would giggle at the old ladies trying to shake what their mama gave them.  Little did I know I would be chomping down on some humble pie after taking the class.

Let me first offer an excuse of sorts. I had an 8:20 appointment with Dr. Josh (who hasn’t had to scrape my foot in two weeks whoot whoot). Zumba wasn’t until 9:30 and Ana wasn’t showing up til around 9:15am.  I hopped on the stationary bike and did 30 minutes on the alpine pass workout to kill some time. That was maybe a mistake.

Zumba was fun in that the music was awesome. Zumba was effective in that my heart rate hit the mid 170s in absolutely no time at all. I was drinking water after every single song. Zumba was hard (ok, that’s an understatement)  in that my body and my feet just don’t work that way!  I always say that I have rhythm but no coordination. Well, I’m not even sure anymore that I have rhythm! I luckily could not see myself in the mirror so I don’t know how horrible it was but let’s just say my answer to the question “So You Think You Can Dance” is pretty much a resounding “Oh hell no!”

The stereo broke after about 40 minutes. I was thinking “Oh good, I got a good workout in but I can go home now if I can walk to my car.” Gigi had other things in mind and told us to go get mats. Do you know what mats mean? CORE! We proceeded to do crunches and hip thrusts and things that my body didn’t want to do. There were push-ups…I did the granny push-ups b/c I suck at them soooo bad. I was sort of half assing it through everything except the crunches. Never in a million years would I have thought crunches would be my preferred exercise out of a set of any exercises! At 10:40, I finally decided that enough was enough and that I needed to get home (I had chicken thawing on the counter…yeah yeah yeah, I know that’s not the proper way to do it).

Now that I’m home, I realize the extent of what I did to my body yesterday and today. I hurt. And I don’t usually hurt the day of a workout. Know what this means? I might not get out of bed tomorrow. I have a long way to go folks. And while I’m ok with that, I think I will save Zumba for another day when it doesn’t hurt to shake my body.

Hope you all have a relaxing and cool weekend!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana Gates  On July 23, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    im sooooooo tired. : )
    but i’m glad we did it.
    if i join, we’re totally doing it again !
    THEY HAVE POLE DANCING DOWNTOWN 😛
    and it is only 4.4 miles and 14 minutes from my new place.

    bhahahahahaha : )
    happy resting!

  • Desiree  On July 23, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Have you tried the cat/cow stretch? It’s a nice reprieve for your abs after being so hard on them. Just get to hands and knees – first round your back, tuck head and tail down. Then lift head and tail – that will feel really good on the ol’ abs after what you’ve put them through and help stretch them out. You’re suck a rock star I can’t help but internet stalk you!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On July 23, 2010 at 6:16 pm

      Thanks, Desiree! I’m quit flattered that anyone would want to internet stalk me 🙂

      The other thing I do when my abs are screaming profanities at me is I bring my knees in towards my chest (as I am lying on my back) and hug them. That seems to calm the abs down!

  • Mark  On July 23, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Cool? No, its 96 degrees with a 100% humidity.
    Im pretty tough I think. But every time I do something different my ass gets kicked.
    Its all about pushing yourself, so even you were half assed you were doing good because you were pushing yourself. Plus, core two days in a row…..thats rough stuff.
    Let yourself get some rest, and you’ll be feeling good next time.
    Hey you write really good…..not bad for a HS drop out. Oh wait, thats me, your still in school, never mind!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On July 23, 2010 at 6:17 pm

      I don’t remember the last day where the temps weren’t in the high 90s with astronomical humidity numbers! I don’t go outdoors unless I absolutely have to. Anyways, if I go to the gym at all tomorrow, it will be for water fitness so at least my joints will be happy.

  • biz319  On July 25, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    OMG, core workouts after 40 minutes of Zumba??!! Way to rock it – no wonder you are sore today!

    Today is in the low 80’s with no humidity – I just did a 30 minute bike ride outside and it was wonderful!

  • Jenn@slim-shoppin  On July 25, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Great job! I’ve always wanted to try Zumba!!

  • Karma Per Diem  On August 16, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Ooh, I’ve thought about trying Zumba, but by the time I realized I wanted to try it, no one is holding classes in my area anymore. Rats! Good job Rachel!
    P.S. It cracked me up to read the comment in my blog wherein you stated that your fiance proposed while you were eating ONION dip! Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

