Colors of the Rainbow ~ Rachel

Weight Watchers is focusing on fruits and vegetables right now in meetings. Personally, I feel like they should focus on fruits and veggies when our options for them are more challenging (ahem, root veggies in the winter) but I guess we should be focusing on them all the time.

Our first challenge was to fill half our plate with produce for at least one meal each day. That’s a lot of produce! Since I tend to eat smaller meals throughout the day, I tried to make sure that I got a fruit and/or veggie at each meal and if it was dinner, that they took up at least half of the plate.

Our second challenge was to eat 3 different colored fruits and/or veggies each day. Below is a list of what I have eaten for the week.

Tuesday: 1 cup blueberries, 8 oz watermelon, 1 banana, 1 small tomato

Wednesday: 1 cup blueberries, 8 oz watermelon, 1 peach

Thursday: 1/2 banana, 8oz baby bella mushrooms

Friday: 1 cup blueberries, 2 small purple plums, 1 banana, 7oz watermelon

Saturday: 1 small tomato, 1 cup purple grapes, side salad from Chick-Fil-A

Sundaysweet potato fries (do these count?), 1/2 cup blueberries

Monday: 1 cup blueberries, 8 oz pineapple, 3 roma tomatoes, 1/2 avocado

Apparently, when I eat fruit, I eat it at the detriment of veggies. I was never really a fruit girl but have been learning to love it…and even crave it. But I don’t see enough green on the list above.  I think I need to check my rainbow again this coming week and make a more conscious effort to include veggies. Part of the problem is not meal planning but luckily my menu is set next week!

You should try and eat a rainbow every day! Below is a graphic (click on it for a larger version) of the colors we should be eating and here is a link with a little bit more scientific information in it. My personal favorites? Blue and red…hooray for lycopene and antioxidants!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

