Weight Loss Week Twenty-Three ~ Rachel

I couldn’t get to a meeting last Tuesday (they aren’t nearly as convenient in Pgh as they are in Raleigh for some reason) so I went from 223.2 on 6/8 to 221.0 this morning. That means that I lost 2.2lbs before and/or during vacation for a grand total of 44.4lbs lost since Jan 12th.

At my weigh-in, the receptionist asked if I had set my next goal. My first goal was 10%, which I hit a few months ago. I told her the next 10% would be my intermittent goal as I still have no idea what my ultimate goal will be. Apparently, the next 10% goal is 10% of the weight I weighed when I met my first 10% goal, not 10% of my initial weight. I’m now only about 4.6lbs away from hitting my next 10%. When that happens, I’m getting an Aveda facial.

In terms of my ultimate goal, according to the BMI chart, I should weigh between 132 and 164. Those numbers seem awfully small to me. I’m 5’8″ and medium/large boned. What’s a little strange is that my ultimate goal for WW has to be in that range. If I decide that I actually want to weigh 175, I need to get a doctor’s note stating that 175lbs is a healthy weight for me and that I’ll be monitored. This sort of rubs me the wrong way. I know WW needs to have the same guidelines for everyone, and that the best guideline to use is the flawed BMI scale, but geez. A doctor’s note? How old am I? I’ll keep making goals of 10% and when I begin to near what I think my ultimate goal should be, I’ll worry about it then.

In the meantime, I keep putting clothing in the fat clothes pile. I had to put one of my favorite shirts in it. That was the first time I felt a little sad about getting rid of clothing that doesn’t fit me. Oh well. I will survive.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana Gates  On June 22, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    yay!! i’ve been missing your blog posts in mexico 🙂
    44 pounds = super awesome!!! : )

  • mark  On June 22, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Eh, I wouldn’t worry about them WW. Stay in the now like you said, plus you could say one thing to them, and another thing to yourself!

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On June 22, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Rachel – congratulations on losing weight while you are on vacation! Who does that? i understand your concern about your final goal weight, but I just wanted to encourage you that you will “know” when you are done.

  • Shelley B  On June 24, 2010 at 7:47 am

    That is AWESOME, losing weight while on vacation – congratulations!!!

    I agree with you on the WW goal – 132? Geez, I’m not quite 5’2″ and I’d like to see 138 but am not holding my breath…and fwiw, I weigh 147 now. You’ll figure out what is the right place for you to be, weight-wise, as you drop more, but in the end it’s you, not WW, who has to maintain that weight.

    P.S. “A doctor’s note? How old am I?” made me laugh this morning! 🙂

  • Jenn@slim-shoppin  On June 26, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Hi Rachel!!! Great job on the weight loss. Yeah, I agree about the WW goals.

    I am only 5’2 and according to them my weight range was (109-130!!) When I first made goal, it was near impossible for me to stay at 130 without feeling deprived. I stayed for a while at 140 and felt great.

    109 pounds for a grown up is ridiculous to me!! You have to do what feels good to you!

Leave a Reply

