Exercise Odds and Ends Friday ~ Rachel

This will likely be my last post until June 21st or so. I’m heading up to Pittsburgh and Youngstown to visit family and friends! I’m quite worried about how I will feel at the gym when I get back. I took Tues and Wed of this week off because of a crazy schedule…and the gym was a bit tough on Thursday.  I decided to kick it into high gear today-Sunday as if I could store up being physically fit or something.

On Thursday, I did my normal strength training (with a fair amount of upper body work) and 30 minutes on the Arc Trainer. My knees were killing me last night so I’m thinking I spent too much time on the Arc Trainer on the highest incline setting. Today, I did more strength training and managed to hold my plank for 40 seconds…twice. I then did 30 minutes on the Arc Trainer, staying away from the highest incline setting, AND 30 minutes on the stationary bike. I feel pretty good. I don’t remember the last time I did 60 minutes of cardio at a gym. The times are a changin’ I suppose.

My plan tomorrow is to do 30 minutes on the bike and then my 60 minute water fitness class. I got a new swimsuit (the other one was threadbare) that will hold me in better (woohoo) so I’m looking forward to trying it out. On Sunday, I’ll do more strength training and then at least 30 minutes of cardio.

I got the Women’s Health Big Book of Exercises out from the library to see if it’s something I want to invest in. I’m bringing that with me up north so I am at least reading about fitness. I also have my stack of post-its so I can mark pages of exercises I want to try. I’ve always relied on machines in the past but I’m kind of getting into the free weights. Seriously, the times they are a changin’.

What do you all recommend I do when I get back from the great back and gold north? Do I jump back into my gym routine immediately or do I somehow ease into it? Is my body gonna hate me?

Have a good weekend and week everyone. I’ll see you when I return (unless I get the chance to blog while I’m away).

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • mark  On June 11, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Your body is going to love you! Rest is sooooo important. Do the minimal exercises you can on the road, but don’t try to over do it, just keep the blood flowing thats all. For weight lifters, we’re supposed to take a week off every few months. Esp at the begining.
    When you get back into it, you might be a bit more sore at first, again, but by the time you start your weekly routine over again, you should be feeling pretty good. Your muscles don’t grow when you exercise, that breaks them down, they grow as the heal, and an extra healing week can be real good! You don’t target very specific muscles each day, once a week like I do, so i guarantee theres a few that need some rest….. Your appetite may decrease a bit too. I was sick for a week, couldnt’ eat, fever 104, couldnt barely walk…..lost 15 lbs of hard earned weight….sucked…..but getting back into the routine wasn’t a big deal, and now its like I never had the bad week. Bad because I didn’t eat or drink anything really……Immodium for breakfast lunch and dinner. Im just mad my arms shrunk. !!! You should come hit the bag with me though. really, you’ll love it.

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On June 16, 2010 at 5:10 am

    I hope that you have a wonderful time on your trip. I’ve seen that book but have not read it. I want to get the book “The New Rules of Lifting for Women” I think that sounds interesting.

    I hope you get some much deserved rest!

  • biz319  On June 17, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Wow, 40 seconds on the plank – woot!

    I hope you have a wonderful trip – my suggestion is to just try to do SOME form of exercise while on vacation – even if its parking in the far corner of a lot or walking to dinner.

    Then just ease back in when you get back – you don’t want to incur any injuries!

Leave a Reply

