Weight Loss Week Twenty-One ~ Rachel

Yesterday was one of those days where nothing seemed to go right. It began with a smoothie explosion in the morning as I was trying to rush to my WW meeting. I’ll spare you the gorey details of the rest of the day because in the end it doesn’t matter. What does matter is that….

I lost 5lbs this past week!

My leader told me to step on the scale…her eyes got real wide and her jaw dropped a little and she asked what I did this past week…I told her I ate out too much because of Dave’s birthday. Then she revealed my news.

There might be something magical about the scallops at 42nd St Oyster Bar. I still maintain they are the best I’ve ever had so maybe there is actually something magical about them. Every time we eat at 42nd St Oyster Bar, I lose weight. Oooooh….maybe it’s the hush puppies? LOL.

I seem to have fallen into a pattern of going up slightly one week and then dropping down a good amount the following week. I’m not sure if it’s my body still getting used to the consistent exercise? I guess I will see if this trend keeps up. I know that when I see a slight gain it’ll come off the next week so I don’t get discouraged at all. Maybe that’s the lesson to take from this?

I’m leaving on Monday for a week up in Pittsburgh and Ohio (poor Dave has to stay home and work and take care of the furkids). I can’t really walk for exercise as it will aggravate the heck out of my bad foot. My plan is to bring my resistance band and DVD (I haven’t tried that out yet) and do that every day. It’s something…which is a whole lot better than nothing. I may also bring my Leslie Sansone walk 3 miles in your home DVD. That doesn’t seem to aggravate my foot as much since I’m not pounding pavement. Other than that, I’m going to do my best to eat right and stay within my points. Any other suggestions for vacation?

I won’t be around on the interweb all next week, and I’m not sure if I’ll get to blog before I leave, so I’ll see you all on the flip side!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • nathan149  On June 9, 2010 at 9:23 am

    congrats, ranch!

  • Shelley B  On June 9, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Wow – 5 pounds is amazing! I don’t like seafood but you are making a good case for those scallops, lol! Congratulations! Oh, and about that smoothie explosion? Been there, cleaned up that. Not fun at all.

  • Kristen  On June 9, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Magical weight-loss hush puppies!

  • Thu  On June 9, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    great job Rachel!! That’s amazing. I have never lost that much weight in a week.

    For vacation physical activity tips…I normally exercise 5 times a week for a hour each time, but on vacation I find that I don’t have to hit the gym at all to maintain or even lose a bit of weight (which is a miracle since I eat much worse and more on vacation) because I end of exploring an aquarium, a garden, or just taking in the city. Just spending fun days outside is the best way I found to incorporate some activity. If I know the city already and there’s nothing to do outside, I’ll exercise at where I’m staying at.

    Thu

  • mark  On June 9, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    I’d tell ya you can workout at my house, which you can, i got EVERYTHING you’d need, but I do it in what the band refers to as the crack room. I secret coal cellar with plenty of spiders……but……..i can lug some of the weights into the living room, and I got one of those exerciese balls and resistance bands too. You can go to town on the heavy bag if ya want, that will get your heart up. way up!

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On June 9, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Congratulations on the weight loss! You will do great on your trip! Good for you on taking your equipment with you!

  • biz319  On June 10, 2010 at 9:40 am

    That’s awesome Rachel!! Way to go – I am leaving for a long weekend tomorrow and plan on hitting up the hotel gym (I need to double check they have one!) and walk in the sand.

    See you when you get back!

  • Debbi Does Dinner Healthy  On June 11, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Awesome on the 5 lbs.! Send me some of those scallops!

Leave a Reply

