101 Days of Summer Challenge ~ Rachel

Biz over at Biggest Diabetic Loser has challenged her readers to join her during the 101 days of summer (Memorial Day to Labor Day) in setting health goals.  She’s posted everyone’s goals and will be updating everyone on a weekly basis. I decided to join on in. Biz’s enthusiasm is contagious, what can I say? I get to meet new folks in the blogger world with the same goals, get some more support and add another level of accountability to my journey. My goals are as follows:

Weekly: Strength training 3x, cardio 3x, water fitness at least once (preferably twice), track everything and stay within my WW allotted points

By the end of the summer: Lose 20lbs (about 1.5lbs/week on average), hold a plank for 1 minute (I’m at about 25 secs) and fit into a size 16 pant (I’m in an 18 now)

I had a moment of lapsed sanity and sent Biz “before” pictures of me in my swimsuit.  If you are so inclined, you can check them out here but be forewarned: They are not pretty! First of all, I’m in a swimsuit. Second of all, I was in a hurry and was not so concerned about the quality of the photos (they are blurry and really washed out). Third of all, I didn’t take the time to make the pictures small so they take up the entire page on Biz’s blog…it’s a whole lot of Rachel in your face.  Seriously, folks. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

In all seriousness though, I was not happy with what I saw. My profile is absolutely terrifying. People never think I weigh what I do but that’s because they are usually looking at me straight on. It’s not as scary from that angle. If I were to turn to the side, they’d quickly realize where my weight is. I’m not a wide kind of fat….I’m more of a deep kind of fat. Does that make sense?

And these “before” pictures are really 37 pounds after I began my journey. I’d hate to think about what I looked like back then. I have a long way to go…

In good news, because that was all a little pity-partyish, I went to Target to find some workout pants and discovered that the XL in normal sizes actually just about fit me! I ended up with the XXL because they felt a little better but it was kind of nice to put on the XL and actually be able to pull it up!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Sarah  On June 1, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Found your blog through Biz, you are going to kick butt during this 101 days, I know it! You have already made great strides toward your goals already…yay about the work out pants!!

  • Debbi Does Dinner Healthy  On June 1, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I didn’t take pictures of myself when I was at my heaviest, I wish I had. I was about 85 more than I am now. Yuck. I am WAY too heavy now but THEN? Gross. So it’s nice that you have the pictures of how you never want to be again! I wish you well!

  • MJ  On June 7, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Do you think Biz will still allow me to join — even though I’m a week late??? and I understand the Deep vs Wide thing. I’m a “deep” too!! =)

    I’m also trying to get better at blogging… come visit!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On June 7, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      Just email Biz and let her know you just found her through me…I bet she lets you in 🙂

      And I like the blog redesign….and your attitude to get back on the road instead of being in a parking spot. Backing out of that spot is the hardest part!

Leave a Reply

