I think they took more than blood yesterday at the Red Cross ~ Rachel

I had a training session with Jen today. We started off with the step and a medicine ball…that went ok. We followed it with a military press/tricep extension using dumbbells…that did not go ok!

I’m right-handed and have always noticed a slight weakness in the left arm whenever I lift. Today, it was more than a slight weakness. My left arm was burning and screaming “I can’t do this!” while my right arm was getting a nice workout that was hard but not impossible. The military press wasn’t the problem…I think my shoulders are in decent shape. The tricep extension was the near impossible part. OMG I just wanted to stop. Thankfully, Jen was there pushing me along. She was patient with me as I waited in between reps for my left arm to recover.

I gave blood yesterday. They took it from my left arm (I have a beautiful vein). Do you think that might have something to do with the seemingly added weakness to my left arm? Or is that a crock of hooey and I’m just being a wimp about this whole thing?

I also felt relatively weak and sluggish through the rest of my workout. That could be related to the blood donation as well, right? Or maybe my time of the month? Either way, I hope tomorrow’s workout goes better. I won’t be doing any tricep dips, that’s for sure!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • mark  On May 18, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    What form of tricep extension? Standing with cables? Dumbells overhead? Laying on your back on a bench? leaning over pusing the weight behind you? and……one arm at a time or two? The only thing I’ve ever heard about this is, if you do one arm at a time that is, is to do your left arm first. If doing both arms at once, make sure your grip is even. As muscle memory increases, they’ll even out a bit, but it does take a while to even out completely, and what your experiencing is completely normal so I wouldn’t worry too much about it. Another thing is, if you do say triceps and shoulders the same day, do triceps first, as military presses work the triceps too, so hit the harder excercise first. Any pushing exercise works the triceps a little bit with the main muscle group, (military press, bench press,) and any pulling excercise the same with the biceps, (pullups, rows) Theres alot of different tricep exercises and grips, if you can, find the one that makes you arms vary in strength the most, and focus on it for a while, then switch it up…..Good Luck! Im excited for you, i love reading you blog things! Later!

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On May 18, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    I definitely think that giving blood in your left arm could contribute to how it was feeling. I hope it is feeling normal now.

    I’m impressed with all the strength training you are doing – good for you!

  • Shelley B  On May 19, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    I’d chalk that workout up to the blood donation – I’m sure the next one will be easier on you. At least I hope so! 🙂

  • Laurie  On May 21, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Yes, giving blood can for sure make you feel weak. Make sure you’re drinking LOTS of water and getting you’re iron and you’ll feel great in no time. Thanks for saving a life!!

Leave a Reply

