My Body Has to Do Wha??? ~ Rachel

I just got back from my very first Bodyflow class. There were a few other rookies in the class, including a woman in her late 60’s so I knew I wouldn’t be the only ridiculous one. I was, however,  front and center, feeling slightly self-conscious, especially when sweat was dripping off of me!

We started off with some Tai Chi moves…I LOVE Tai Chi! I felt strong and balanced…it was awesome. Then we moved into some yoga stuff. I did *ok* for the most part. I definitely have some balance issues but those will get better with time. I was having a hard time with my bad foot because of the poses and all of the pressure your foot has to take. I’m hoping that gets easier with time.

Then we did some pilates stuff….I HATE pilates! OMG I was not having fun at that point. Part of the problem is that with my history of stress fractures in my lower back, it’s very hard for me to lay on the floor. Contact with the floor, even with yoga mats under me, hurts my bones. It’s hard to explain but it’s so painful that it makes it almost impossible to focus on the moves (which I couldn’t really do anyways). Renee, my instructor, told me to get one of the thick mats for that section next time.

Next time? Yep, I’m going on Sunday 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lori (Finding Radiance)  On May 1, 2010 at 6:43 am

    Pilates was really, really hard for me at first. It was so hard on my back trying to roll like a ball or do the rollover. I kept up with it and those issues went away! I actually really like Pilates, much better than yoga. I would suggest a thicker mat for sure.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On May 1, 2010 at 7:26 pm

      You’re a fitness rock star so if you had trouble with it at first, I don’t feel so bad 🙂

  • Barbara A  On May 1, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Awesome that you went! If you ever have Pam as an instructor she is one of my clients! I told her that you were going to start going. : )

    • Rachel Palmieri  On May 1, 2010 at 7:25 pm

      There’s no Pam on my schedule…is she at the Rapid Fitness on Glenwood or downtown?

  • Diane Fit to the Finish  On May 3, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    I admire you for sticking it out. I am thinking that if something hurts you in a way you might reinjure your back then that might not be the best exercise for you. There are certain strength training exercises that I don’t do just because of my lower back and knee issues.

    I hope the thicker mat solves all your problems though, because Pilates is an awesome conditioning exercise!

Leave a Reply

