Friday Thoughts ~ Rachel

It’s been an interesting week and I’m all out of whack so bear with me for my totally random thoughts:

(1) Sports Bra: So I tried a Moving Comfort bra on and it was awful. I then tried the Enell bra and realized my girls had met their match. I had a really hard time spending $60 on it but after wearing it today on the Arc Trainer, I came to terms with how worth it it is. My only complaint is that it’s HOT. The girls are so smooshed in there that heat gets trapped. I thought these things were supposed to breathe? Doesn’t it look like body armor??

Enell Sports Bra

(2) Food: I’ve not done very good with food the last couple of weeks. I find myself eating while cooking….I used to do that and quit when I started WW but I’m slipping back into the old habit. Part of it is hunger…with this whole world of exercise now a part of my life, I need to figure out how to manage hunger better. Smaller meals during the day might help but I’m finding that once I have a snack, I want more snack! Part of the slippage is also due to stress and part of it was due to that lovely time of the month. I really need to figure out how to not let stress get the best of me food-wise.

(3) The foot: Dr. Josh’s wife had a baby on Monday so I didn’t have an appointment with him this week until this morning. He really went at my leg

Brooks Addiction

today with the scraper…really really hard. I can tell that my leg is improving with the scraping but my foot still hurts, sometimes worse than it did when I started this process. The fact that I am seeing improvement in my leg after 4 sessions makes me hopeful that the foot isn’t far behind. I will likely bite the bullet and pay for 5 more sessions for a total of 10. If my foot isn’t improved by then, I’m amputating. Joking! But I will probably stop seeing Dr. Josh for the foot. I’ve also got new custom inserts on the way and the lovely folks at Fleet Feet Raleigh are allowing me to exchange my Brooks Ariels for some Brooks Addictions even though I bought the Ariels in Jan or Feb! I explained to the girl that I thought the Ariels were going to be better because there is more motion control but that they actually make my feet hurt more. She said that the Addictions have more arch support and that the Ariels are pretty flat…ding ding ding! So I get to exchange my shoes because of their “Comfort” policy. How awesome is that? I will be a customer for life after this experience, and others, with them!

(4) Exercise:  I did water fitness on Monday…we used the noodles this time instead of weights and boy were they evil! I did a full workout with strength training on Tuesday that went well. I held the plank for 5 seconds both times! Wednesday was my day off. Thursday roared in with what I think might be a mildly strained right hamstring. I always thought that a pulled hamstring was noticeable right when it happens? Well, I woke up with the pain. I decided to skip the gym and just work on stretching it and rolling it out with the foam roller. Holy hell did that hurt! When I woke up this morning, it still hurt but was much improved. After my session with Dr. Josh I went to do a strength training workout only to discover that my trainer had written out a program that I hadn’t done before! I made up my own using exercises from the two workouts we did. I managed to hold the plank for 5 and SEVEN seconds. Go me! I then headed to the Arc Trainer and stopped after 15 minutes. My foot hurt, my hamstring was tight and I was tired. I hadn’t eaten yet this morning since my appointment with Dr. Josh was so early. I’m pretty sure that was my problem…I had no fuel! That’s never happened to me before. Now I know!

In terms of exercise this weekend, I am taking a BodyFlow class tonight (which should be HILARIOUS), water fitness tomorrow morning and I’m doing a full workout with strength training on Sunday. Sunday is normally my day off but since I skipped Thursday, I am going Sunday.

And in unrelated news, I get to go see Wicked tomorrow! I’m so very excited because I’ve been listening to the music for years and have never seen the show. I doubt it will surpass Les Miserables as my favorite musical but I bet it takes over Rent’s spot!

Happy weekend y’all! Here’s one of the best songs from Wicked to close out the week…I’m gonna continue to defy gravity with this whole weight loss and healthy lifestyle adventure I’m on 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Sarah  On April 30, 2010 at 11:30 am

    1) Wicked rocks!

    2) Have you tried chewing gum while cooking? Or brushing your teeth right before you start with really mint-y toothpaste??

    3) You rock!

  • Rachel Palmieri  On April 30, 2010 at 11:36 am

    Thanks, Sarah! I will try the gum trick next time 🙂

  • Desiree  On April 30, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    I’m really intrigued by this scraping business. It sounds like sheer torture. Is it a kind of myofascial release?

    • Rachel Palmieri  On April 30, 2010 at 12:50 pm

      It’s exactly a myofascial release technique! Here’s a video of a chiropractor doing doing it. I imagine this is what Dr. Josh does to my leg but it sure seems like he is putting a lot more strength behind it than the guy in the video (because it sure does hurt)!

      • dave  On May 1, 2010 at 6:26 am

        That is not myofascial release, it is soft tissue mobilization. To see what real myofascial release is go to http://www.myofascialrelease.com.

        If the fascial tissue does not get true myofascial release after soft tissue mobilization the restrictions just reform.

        To be clear soft tissue mobs is helpful but it is not complete treatment by itself.

  • Shelley B  On May 1, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Oh my gosh, with your new bra and shoes we are now TWINS! Yay! Glad you got the Enell – it really does work. I find that my back gets hot and then cold (sweat drying) – there’s a lot of fabric in that bra, but you know what? I’ve found nothing that even comes close to working as well as the Enell.

    And those are my shoes – I do like them and am thinking about betting another pair. Wonder if there are any Fleet Feet in Texas – that’s one great return policy they have!

    Don’t worry about sweating in your Body Flow classes – that is why you’re there! Shoot, you would fit right in with my workouts (did you see my sweat monster pics?). If I ever join a big gym, I am going to try Body Flow – it sounds intense and fun – of course, I’ve never done pilates, so I could be wrong, lol!

    Have a good weekend!

    • Rachel Palmieri  On May 1, 2010 at 8:29 pm

      Fleet Feets are in San Antonio, Corpus Cristi and someplace else in that general SE area. Are any of those close to you? LOL, and yes, I saw the sweat monster pics and totally sympathized! 🙂

  • fatbridesmaid  On May 1, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Dude, there’s no way I could workout without my Enell. No way at all. Best $60 I ever spent. Mine’s five years old and still works great.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On May 1, 2010 at 8:30 pm

      Glad to know it still holds up! The saleswoman was trying to tell me to replace in some random number of washes…basically, I would be replacing it before I replaced my sneakers! That’s pretty crazy if you ask me. And after one workout with the Enell, I now agree it was an excellent $60 to spend!

Leave a Reply

