Weight Loss Week Fourteen & Fitness Update ~ Rachel

Despite not tracking my food very well last week, I still lost 2.6lbs! Whoot! I’m now down 32.6lbs since I began WW January 12th.

******************************************************************************************************************

I’ve been focusing so much on my new gym and all of the appointments that have gone along with it (chiropractor, personal trainer, xrays) that I got a little lazy with my food tracking. I’m hoping that this week I do better with that and establish a nice routine for myself.

On Monday, I had my first chiropractic session with Dr. Josh. The scraping technique he used is the Graston technique…it appears to help those suffering from plantar fasciitis so I’m hopeful. When he scraped my foot, it felt good. The further up my ankle and calf he got, the more unpleasant it got. It did hurt but it was bearable…nowhere near the pain I’ve experienced before with other issues. In addition to those treatments, I am icing the foot and rolling it out several times during the day. I’m also using the foam roller on my calf muscle to loosen it up. Somehow, though, my calf seems tighter after I’ve rolled it out. Sigh. I think this is going to take some time! I’m not looking forward to my treatment tomorrow as my legs are quite tight and I’m not sure that any amount of foam rolling is going to help!

I met with my personal trainer, Jen, this morning. She’s a teeny tiny little cyclist from Long Island and very nice. Not too nice though. She made me use the step (up, down, up, down) in between my shoulder press reps. Little did I know that was going to be the easy part. I had to do static lunges with some weights…those weren’t horrible but my lunging isn’t so much a lunge as a lean forward a little bit. I got to use the kettleball again (Yay…and no, that wasn’t sarcastic). I also had to do tricep dips. Um, those suck. I had to do two sets of them and Jen kept getting distracted…which meant her counting lagged a little…which meant more tricep dips for me. Doh.

Kettlebell Swing

Tricep Dip

Of course, none of these things compared to the plank. I wasn’t sure I could even get into the plank position, let alone hold it. Well, I did…for a whopping 2 seconds! The second time, I held it for a whopping 3 seconds. Jen swears that I’ll be able to hold it for 30 seconds in a matter of a couple of weeks. I’ll believe it when I see it!

My arms felt wiggly and not usable by the end of my session. I see Jen again tomorrow (and after that, once every other week). We’ll see what I have to do tomorrow and if I can do it! I’m sure I can but I’m not gonna enjoy it. Maybe one day I will like exercise.

The PLANK

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ana Gates  On April 20, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    i haaaaaaate the plank.

  • mark palmieri  On April 20, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    one day you will love exercise! you will feel empty without it! promise!

  • Shelley B  On April 20, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    I kinda like the plank – it’s hard, but I feel like I’m resting from my other crazy exercises while I’m doing it. Think I’ve gotten up to about 3:30 – but like you, I could barely do it when I first started.

    Congrats on losing 2.6 – “waiter, I’ll have what she’s having!”

    • Rachel Palmieri  On April 20, 2010 at 5:48 pm

      OMG, Shelley…3 and a half minutes!?!?!?!?!? I have to fill out my goals for the next 10-12 months for my trainer. I originally had holding the plank for 30 seconds or more because holding it longer than that is incomprehensible. But if you can hold it for 3.5 minutes I’ll aim for 2 minutes. Wow. I’m in awe of you!

      • Shelley B  On April 21, 2010 at 7:24 pm

        You can totally do two minutes…just do it at the beginning of your workout, when you’re fresh. 🙂

  • Elle Bieling  On April 21, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Hi Dave and Rachel,
    Congrats on your journey to regain your health! Your efforts WILL pay off for you if you just believe that you can do it. Don’t give up, and don’t give up on the foam rolling. I am over 50, but have been committed to staying fit my whole life. Nothing has helped me like staying flexible and loose from yoga and using the foam roller. Go slow, and even consider an air roller if the foam roller hurts too much. Overly used muscles that are unaccustomed to the new movement need time to adjust and foam rolling really helps.
    Good luck to you both!
    Elle
    http://www.bodywindow.com

    • Rachel Palmieri  On April 21, 2010 at 4:04 pm

      Hi Elle! Thanks for your comment. I’ll be exploring your website as it appears to have a ton of extremely useful information. Thanks for finding us 🙂

Leave a Reply

