It’s getting serious… ~ Rachel

I met with the gym’s chiropractor this morning and we mostly discussed my foot. I am going to see him for 5 sessions of “scraping” where he uses this tool to scrape along the lower leg and foot to break up scar tissue and allow my foot to heal like it’s supposed to. At this point, I am willing to try just about anything within reason to get my foot to stop behaving badly. If after 5 sessions there isn’t a glimmer of hope, I will stop the treatment. If after 5 sessions I see some improvement, I need to figure out how to fit a chiropractor into my budget.

I also met with a trainer and proved to myself that I am painfully out of shape. Painfully. Let me repeat again….PAINFULLY. All he did was teach me some basics about health (that 5-6 small meals/day idea makes sense now so we’ll see if I can do it) and then assess me. Well, we know what I weigh. What you didn’t know is I am 42.2% body fat. Ugh. Time to build some lean muscle mass please!

The first thing he had me do was stand on a balance trainer (see picture). I promptly informed him I was a klutz and had no balance. I don’t think he believed me until he actually saw me wobbling on that ball like I was on a teeny tiny tightrope. He wanted me to do squats while on it but I told him it wasn’t happening. This was not me being lazy, mind you, but it was me being realistic and afraid of actually falling and hurting myself.  Believe me, it would have happened. Plus my feet were so wobbly that my foot was hurting from the angles at which my feet were hanging on for dear life. We moved on to an exercise with a kettle bell that was actually kind of fun and not painful! I did some tricep and bicep exercises that were fine (though when I left the gym I realized how shaky my arms were!). I managed the knee lifts with some box thingy on the ground without too much pain but I wasn’t excelling at them for sure. Then we hit the floor. He wanted me to do push-ups. I said “Multiple???” Well, I got down and I did them. I think. It really didn’t feel like I was actually moving up and down. My arms gave out after a few. We then did some leg lifting things while on my back…my legs didn’t want to work at all. There was one exercise I couldn’t even do. So in the end, the picture was crystal clear to me…

MY CORE SUCKS!!!!! I might as well not have a core at all because it sure wasn’t working for me. I have a feeling I’ll be working on my core before learning to do anything else.

I was then talked into hiring a personal trainer. Jeff wasn’t pushy at all…and I really wanted to…it’s just that finances are a bitch. I’m a poor grad student. But I am so serious about this quest to lose weight and be healthy, I signed up for a trainer 2x/month at $30/session. That’s not a lot time with a trainer but it’s all I can (barely) afford. And lets be serious here. I would never in a million years have done 90% of the exercises Jeff had me doing today if I didn’t have someone standing over me.

So next Monday, I see Dr. Josh for #1 of 5 scraping therapies for my foot. I go later that day to my gym in another location for xrays so Dr. Josh can make sure there isn’t anything wacky going on with my neck or back. I have a history of stress fractures in my lower back so he wants to be careful. The xrays are free! Yay!  I also got a free training session so on Tuesday and Wednesday I am meeting with my trainer Jen.  In between all that, I am going to attempt a water fitness class and maybe a BodyFlow class. It will be a busy week for me!

Tonight is a “me” night…I’ve been catching up on my magazine stack (3 Women’s Healths among others) with the tv on. I got this fabulous idea to get my yoga ball out of the spare bathroom’s shower just to sit on it. Well, after scrubbing the dust off, that’s precisely what I did. And after less than 5 minutes my core starting yelling at me.

Jeepers, do I have a long road ahead of me! Happy Friday everyone…I swear I’ll have a more research oriented/informational post in the next few days!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kat  On April 16, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    I love kettle bells!! Good luck with everything. Sending good vibes to your foot and core!

  • Becky  On April 16, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Rachel, that’s awesome. Hiring a trainer is a great idea, especially until you start to get into a routine and feel more fit. It’s a lot easier with someone watching you– if you can find a workout buddy to work into the rotation, I’ve always found that it serves a similar purpose, so long as your buddy of choice isn’t a slack-off enabler. Just remember that the first 4 weeks or so are going to feel brutal, but once you break through that first level of fitness, it will get so much easier.

    And CONGRATS!!!

  • mark palmieri  On April 16, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Thats awesome! Ya, screw the money, your health is most important, and it definately helps to have someone that knows there stuff. Don’t worry about being shaky, that will go away. They call it muscle memory. Doesn’t even have much to do with strength. At home on my bench that only goes flat, Ill comfortably bench 200 a few times. Im still yelling and red faced and all that, but I feel balanced……Every once in a while i go to gym with Jake. I get on the bench with just a slight incline, throw on 100, and put it up easy….but im shaking…..because im not used to the position. It really doesnt take long at all to get comfortable. keep up the good work and keep having fun!!!

  • Kirstin  On April 16, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Oh Rachel, you’re doing a great job. I also need to lose weight, and you’re inspiring me. But a word about the 5-6 small meals – yes, that makes sense from a metabolic rate perspective. But it calls for serious calorie counting and portion control. If a day comes when you just don’t have it in you to keep track of every little thing that passes your lips, just stick with three meals per day with no snacking (or fruits and veggie snacking). Yes, your metabolism will dip, but your total calories will be so much lower than if you ate 6 meals non-mindfully. I’ve been there. Best of luck! I hope your foot feels better soon.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On April 16, 2010 at 10:10 pm

      I hear you on the portion control issue! Luckily I’m on Weight Watchers so I’m tracking everything and know my points limits.

  • jensmith12  On April 16, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    Good for you! I really hope the foot scraping thing works out, it must be so frustrating when you mentally want to do something but physically can’t. Good luck with your session on Monday! 🙂

  • Nathan Clendenin  On April 16, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    this is encouraging – you’re diving into it!

  • Shelley B  On April 17, 2010 at 8:58 am

    You are taking great steps toward your fitness, Rachel – and it will be fun to look back on this post in a couple of months and see how much you’ve progressed…because you will, most definitely!

    BTW, I am STILL very wobbly when Brad makes me stand on that Bosu ball!

Leave a Reply

