Is it really exercise if you don’t sweat? ~ Rachel

I joined a gym last week and have gone twice this week (Monday and today) to ease myself into it before meeting with the trainer on Friday. I won’t go near the machines until he explains how to use them correctly! Next week, I’ll start classes (water fitness and bodyflow). Because of my foot, impact cardio is out of the question. I even have a hard time with the elliptical machine, which has always been my go to cardio machine.

Instead I do 30-35 minutes on the recumbent bike…the one where you are lounging and have a nice seat to sit in. First of all, I find that my arms just hang out on the armrests beside me as if I was just lounging by the pool. Second of all, I don’t even break a sweat while “riding.” You have to realize that I sweat horribly, sometimes when doing nothing at all, so if I’m exercising and not sweating, I MUST be doing something wrong. Lastly, I “rode” 9 miles today in 35 minutes and only burned 140 calories. Oh yeah, and my heart rate never got above 125.

Does this seem right to you exercise experts out there? Am I doing something wrong? Am I really exercising or am I fooling myself?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Thu  On April 14, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Good job Rachel! You are exercising. Perhaps the gym was nice and cool so you didn’t sweat very much. It’s always best to start out slow and easy and then progress. I use the stationary bike about twice a week. When you feel like you need more of a challenge, you can increase the resistance or try to maintain a faster pace. Also a lot of stationary bikes have some set options where it changes the resistance level every few minutes.I like to pick the one where it gets harder and harder, stimulating climbing a hill and then it drops to a very low resistance level and starts up again.

  • Desiree  On April 14, 2010 at 10:42 am

    I’m no trainer, but from what I understand about exercise – it’s all about the heart rate. If your heart rate isn’t getting up (there are a number of online calcs to tell you what your range should be) then your body isn’t really reaping the benefits of cardiovascular exercise. And that’s where the calories are as well. I’ll second that comment on resistance, perhaps the recumbent you are using can be adjusted for resistance?

  • Mark  On April 14, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Cardio, is to target the heart, so I worry about your arms just hanging there. But, doing a lot of leg exercises without proper healing time for the muscles isn’t so good because then your legs tire before your heart gets where you want it…..We have different goals and such, but I do say chest one day, and thats it for the week. Even moderate cardio is good for your heart, you want to burn calories so, like others said beef up that resistance. I just read that you burn more calories with shorter but more intense workouts. Like lifting heavy weights burns more calories than hitting the heavy bag. I was surprised to read this though…..Anyway, the BIGGEST thing that got my attention is you not sweating…..Are you drinking enough water? Not only will dehydration make you not sweat, but it saps your energy, alot! Makes your heart beat harder, instead of faster……And leaves you very tired after a workout. Also, drinking a glass of water first thing in the morning can boost your metabolism up to 10% for the rest of the day! That’s a proven fact. Ask your trainer all the questions you want, and get answers. Some trainers don’t like to share all they know right away because they want to keep the customer! Don’t worry about workouts that feel unproductive, everyone has those days, and everyone has the kick ass days. Just keep the momentum going. Law of inertia. Keep up the good work!

  • Shelley B  On April 17, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Well, you ARE moving, so that counts as exercising. However, you might want to increase the resistance and possible get a light pair of dumbbells (like 3 or 5 lbs) and do arm curls, etc. IF you can – I am horrible at doing two things at once (walking/gum chewing is OUT!). I’m just proud of you for making the effort what with your foot being sore!

Leave a Reply

