Weight Loss Week Twelve ~ Rachel

Well, I’ve been at it for 3 months and have lost a total of 28lbs! That includes today’s weight loss of 1.4lbs! I’m right on track!

I was ravenous last night for some reason and probably ate too much popcorn while watching Revenge of the Nerds (which I’d never seen if you can believe it). I went rogue when it came to Easter dinner (hello stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy). I also didn’t track my food very well (or at all in some cases) since our Friday night dinner at 42nd St Oyster Bar.  I didn’t exercise at all last week. And I keep forgetting I bought dumbbells. I guess I need to put them somewhere that I’ll trip over them (which I would, believe you me). How I lost 1.4lbs this week with all that is beyond me. Geez our bodies are mysterious!

In the vein of my post yesterday about obstacles, I’m going to look at all those things as hurdles that I knocked over. However, I’m not gonna look back.  If I do, all I’ll really do is trip over the next hurdle. My eyes are on the finish line….even if it is months away.

PS: At my meeting this morning, we were talking about how this is a never ending journey and that we never “finish.” Goal one might be to lose weight until you hit a certain number. The goal after that is to never see the bad numbers again. I guess that thinking doesn’t quite jive with how I’ve been thinking about things so here’s what I’m going to do. My finish line…my goal….is to lose weight and hit a magic number (I don’t know what that is yet). When I hit that goal, I’ll adopt a new one of maintenance and come up with a new analogy that doesn’t involve finish lines 🙂

The ladies in my meeting were right though.  This is a never-ending journey.  I will be a Weight Watcher member for the rest of my life and always need to attend meetings. And you know what, I’m ok with that!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Elaine  On April 6, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Congrats! That’s a big deal!

  • Shelley B  On April 7, 2010 at 11:15 am

    You are doing great! I agree with you on the “finish line” way of thinking – that’s how I regained my weight in the past…thinking I was done. Even though you are not there yet, I think it’s a good thing to be thinking about maintenance.

    Man, did I use the word “think” a lot or what?!?

Leave a Reply

