Cinnamon Apple Cake ~ Rachel

ISBN 0848723589

Years ago, when I did Weight Watchers the first time, they had these Weight Watcher Magazines that weren’t exactly magazines…they were small paperback cookbooks that had their own themes. They are out of print now and sell for a pretty penny on Amazon…and for good reason! I haven’t met a recipe from them that I didn’t like!

There is a recipe for Cinnamon Apple Cake in the All Things Sweet Weight Watcher Magazine that is absolutely to die for. The magazine explains that it’s a common cake served at Hanukkah. Well, I made it for Easter yesterday and it was a big hit. I don’t know all the laws surrounding copyrighted information reposted on the internet so if anyone knows if I’m breaking the law, please let me know!

Cinnamon Apple Cake

Ingredients:

1 and 3/4 cups sugar, divided

1/2 cup stick margarine, softened (I used light butter)

1 tsp vanilla extract

6 ounces block style fat-free cream cheese, softened (I used reduced fat)

2 large eggs

1 and 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp ground cinnamon

3 cups peeled chopped Rome apples (about 2 large)…I never peel the apples (hello fiber!) and have used all varieties…the Gala apple was especially good!

Cooking spray

Instructions:

(1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees

(2) Beat 1 and 1/2 cups sugar, butter, vanilla and cream cheese at medium speed until well blended, about 4 minutes. Add eggs, 1 at time, beating well after each addition.

(3) Combine flour, baking soda and salt in another bowl. Add to the creamed mixture, beating at low speed until blended.

(4) Combine remaining 1/4 cup sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon…stir well.

(5) Combine 2 Tbsp of the cinnamon sugar mixture and the chopped apples…stir well.

(6) Stir apple mixture into the batter and pour into an 8-inch springform pan coated with cooking spray.

(7) Sprinkle with the remaining cinnamon sugar mixture and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour, 15 minutes or until the cake pulls away from the sides of the pan.

NOTE: I used to make this in a tube pan but used a 9-inch springform pan this time around…I think it turned out better in the springform pan. If you use a 9-inch springform pan OR a 9-inch square cake pan, knock 5 minutes off of the cooking time.

Servings: 12 (6 pts each)

Nutrition Info: 281 cal, 8.7g fat (1.8g saturated), 1.2g fiber, 4.8g protein, 46.3g carb, 234mg sodium, 89mg calcium

I’d like to attempt this cake substituting egg beaters or egg whites for the eggs and applesauce for the butter….or at least some of the butter. Does anyone know if it’s an equal substitution? If it needs 1/2 cup of butter, can I just substitute 1/2 cup applesauce? It seems like the batter consistency would be way off, right? I also need to try this with the fat free cream cheese…though I hate fat free foods. It might be worth the extra point or two for the reduced fat cream cheese! And I wonder what it would taste like with whole wheat flour…

Does anyone have good advice on substituting in recipes? Thanks!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Rebecca  On April 5, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I have found http://www.foodsubs.com to be invaluable when I need to make substitutions whether its for weight loss or simply because I forgot to pick up something at the store. 🙂 Hope it helps you as much as it has helped me.

    • Rachel Palmieri  On April 5, 2010 at 11:32 am

      Thanks, Rebecca! Wow, that site has a lot of info! Can’t wait to explore it!

  • Lou " Diabetes cakes"  On April 5, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    I wanted to thank you for this great blog!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

Leave a Reply

